In This Guide:

Psychology: Statistics and Data

Guide to information for the field of Psychology. This page is updated and added to frequently.

Why and How to Use Statistics

Encyclopedia of Statistics in Behavioral Science
Comprehensive accounts of statistical methodologies in the behavioral sciences; includes neuroscience, behavioral genetics, decision science and cognitive science.
SPSS Guide
Library's guide to using SPSS statistical package.

Mental Health and Substance Abuse

FastStats: Mental Health - National Center for Health Statistics
Quick access to statistics on mental health topics. Click on the FastStats homepage button for statistics on other topics of public health importance. Links lead to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
Mental Health Data & Statistics - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Brings together mental health data gathered through a variety of surveys in support CDC's overall public health efforts.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services - Data files and Reports
Data and reports by type of data, geographic areas, quality metrics and behavioral outcomes. Fast Fact finder and links to pre-2010 data archive.

more... less...

U.S. Dept of Health and Human Services. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Administration. National Mental Health Association.
National Institute for Mental Health Statistics - Statistics
Contains a variety of links to statistical reports, fast facts
SAMHDA - Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive
SAMHDA provides public-use data files, file documentation, and access to restricted-use data files to support a better understanding of substance abuse, mental and behavioral health.

more... less...

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) is an initiative with the Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

Children & Adolescents

ChildStats
A portal to data from 23 government agencies on a wide variety of topics for children and families.
Childinfo.org
UNICEF site includes international stats on HIV/AIDS, Education, Infant Mortality and more.
National Data Archive on Child Abuse & Neglect
Data archive on child welfare and maltreatment.
Children's Defense Fund (CDF)
Reports, charts, studies, etc. on child poverty, health, education.
National Juvenile Court Data Archive
Data sets and publications on juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system.

Aging

Aging Integrated Database (AGID)
Stats on expenditures required by Older Americans Act including caregivers, senior centers, abuse prevention, etc.
Agingstats.gov
Aggregates and analyzes data from multiple agencies, reports on several key indicators of well being. Some data goes back into the 1990s.

Additional Sources

ARDA - Association of Religion Data Archives
A collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers about religion. Includes: country and regional profiles of religious composition and freedoms, demographics, and more; and congregational membership for US states, counties, and urban areas.
Data.gov
Data.gov provides access to Federal datasets, information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data pool will continue to grow as more sets are added. Federal, Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.
Health Statistics
Libraries' guide to sources on health and medical related statistics.

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) from ICPSR
NOTE: you must create a "MyData" account in order to retrieve data.
Abstracts, longitudinal studies, project overviews, data collection instruments, and descriptions of variables found in the dataset. Most datasets and documentation can be downloaded, from on campus computers, for research and personal use.

For help and documentation, see:
Help and User Guide
ICPSR Youtube channel.
ICPSR holds a wealth of data from a number of sources. Among them:
Collaborative Psychiatric Epidemiology Surveys
Data Sharing for Demographic Research
Health and Medical Care Archive
National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging
NCAA Division I Academic Progress Rate, 2003-2014
Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods
National Survey of Substance Abuse Treatment Services (N-SSATS) Series
Terrorism and Preparedness Data Resource Center.

Population Reference Bureau
Reports and data on national and international scale. Partners with more than 80 organizations around the world
UNdata
Brings major UN databases and those of member states into one single internet environment. Provides browsing or keyword search access to data series.
Zanran
A 'google' web search engine for locating structured data in graph, chart or table format.