Why background?
Background sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals, etc.) provide summary and factual information. They generally contain well established information and can be used to:
• Find basic concepts and viewpoints of topic
• Get the historical context and relationships to other topics
• Identify and define special terms used to discuss the topics
• Find or verify data, facts, formulas
Need Help?
IM a Librarian:
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443
Phone a Librarian:
Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556
Email a Librarian:
Email the Information Desk at
askus@marquette.edu
Request an Appointment:
Research Consultation
Stop by In-person:
Service Hours
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Evolution
Call Number: Reference QH360.2 .R53 2007
Featuring more than 200 cross-referenced entries, the encyclopedia also includes five essays, interspersed throughout the text, that explore ethical issues related to evolutionary science, in addition to biographies of modern evolutionary scientists who have had or continue to have a major impact on evolutionary science.
Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics, and Bioinformatics - 8 vol.
Call Number: Reference QH431 .E62 2005
v. 1-2. Genetics, v. 3-4. Genomics, v. 5-6. Proteomics, v. 7-8. Bioinformatics
Other Reference Books
Color Atlas of Genetics - 3rd ed., rev. and updated
Call Number: Reference QH436 .P3713 2007
Quantities, Symbols, Units, and Abbreviations in the Life Sciences: A Guide for Authors and Editors
Call Number: Reference QH304.5 .Q36 1999
All the symbols, units, and abbreviations are defined, with commentary and some etymological background frequently provided.
Science Podcast

Loading Podcast Content...
Dictionaries
The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology - 4th ed.
Call Number: Reference QH575 .D52 2007
With over 10,000 entries, it incorporates related terms from neuroscience, genetics, microbiology, immunology, pathology, and physiology.
Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology - 3rd ed., revised
Call Number: Reference QR9 .S56 2006
Includes over 18,000 entries ranging from concise definitions of terms to review-length articles and covers the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology.
The Facts on File Dictionary of Biology - 4th ed.
Call Number: Reference QH302.5 .F38 2005
Contains about 3,700 entries written in clear, concise, easy-to-understand language and ranging in length from a sentence to several paragraphs. Black-and-white line drawings, tables, and charts supplement the text.
Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology
Call Number: Reference QH491 .D94 2002
"...covers classical morphological and cytological terms along with those from modern genetics and molecular biology and includes definitions of terms, explanations of concepts, and biographies of historical figures. Comparative aspects are described in order to provide a sense of the evolution of structures. All features of embryology and developmental biology are covered."
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Call Number: Reference QP512 .O94 2006
There are over 21000 main entries, which provide details of biochemical substances and the processes in which they are involved, define methods and concepts in molecular biology, and give definitions of biochemical symbols and abbreviations. illustrated with over 900 chemical structures.
Science Friday Podcast
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait