MANA 3001 - O'Neill: Home

Need Help?

Ask us!

Report access issues here →

Subject Librarian

Valerie Beech

Email Me

Contact:

414.288.1998

Subjects: Accounting, Advertising, Business, Career Research, Citation Searching, Communication, Economics, Finance, French, German, Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Linguistics, Management, Marketing, Public Relations, Social Innovation/Entrepreneurship, Spanish, Strategic Communication

About this guide

This guide was written for Dr. Bonnie O'Neill's MANA 3001 course, which works on the X-Culture projects.

If you're living off campus and haven't yet downloaded/installed the VPN, immediately below are instructions about that.

Why download/install the VPN?

The VPN (Duo Mobile and GlobalProtect together) allows an off campus computer to look like it is on campus. This is how many library database vendors recognize that you are affiliated with Marquette University, and permit you to access to the library databases.

Below are several databases to use for all the X-Culture projects. And these are databases to which I cannot create durable links to specific content or reports: you will have to learn about them, how to search in them, what are their limitations and strengths.

On a separate page are starting point resources to use for researching each industry / country. They are organized by the names of the X-Culture client companies.

APA citation help:

Business sources in APA 7th ed. citation style
Really nice examples of cites to business sources. Not from the "official" APA, but created by a group of business librarians to follow APA 7 guidelines as closely as possible with non-standard, non-academic business sources.
Use the left-margin menu to look for sources in an A-Z list (e.g. Ad$pender, e-Statement Studies, MarketLine, Mergent, SRDS, etc.)
Excelsior OWL - APA Style
Open the + menus in the left margin to find guidance and examples for different source types.

Off campus access methods (authentication)

Library Off-Campus Access webpage
Information (comprehensive) about all 3 authentication methods; has screenshots.
  –  Authentication is required for off-campus use of library databases by the database vendors.
  –  A few databases only work with the VPN.
  –  Includes FAQs about OpenAthens.

Brief description of 3 authentication methods:

New Library Login (OpenAthens): Many library resources use this method for logging in; requires no setup. When prompted, select "Marquette University Libraries (AZURE)" and then sign in using your Marquette email/password.
Library Login (legacy version): This method is quick and requires no setup. Just login before clicking on library database links or when prompted to do so. A few library databases will not work with it.
VPN (virtual private network): The VPN requires you to download an app onto both your cell phone and your computer. A few library databases require it for off-campus access. Outline of the steps required for the VPN:
- Register for Duo Mobile if you haven't already (see "detailed VPN instructions" linked just below).
- Download Duo Mobile app onto your cell phone. Allow push notifications for it.
- Download GlobalProtect app onto your computer. Complete GlobalProtect setup on your computer.
- Find detailed VPN instructions from ITS here.

Market research databases

Here are some general guidelines for using these databases:

Passport: has great international coverage. There is a video demo for how to search in Passport too.
1. Industry coverage: its greatest strength is in consumer packaged goods, but it does cover other industries such travel and tourism. When selecting geographies, you'll get better results if you select individual countries, rather than just regions. (E.g. China and Japan, instead of Asia-Pacific.)
2. Country economic and social indicator data: use Passport to pull and compare statistics on the countries (e.g. population, education, income, consumption expenditures; business environment data) that you're evaluating and considering recommending.
IBISWorld: coverage is primarily for the US, and uses the NAICS code as its organizing principle. However, it has very granular coverage of industries; it will help to explain the industry supply chain, even if you are more interested in other countries.
Refinitiv Workspace's After Market Research module: some instructions with screenshots are available here. In addition to those instructions, add "marketline industry profiles" in the Contributor field. Or, simply send me an email request to meet and I'll walk you through the steps required. Please include a few dates/times that are convenient for you!
ABI/Inform Collection: probably our largest trade article database.

Passport This link opens in a new window
On first use only, acknowledgement of privacy and security policy required.
Data, reports and analysis about countries, industries, companies and consumers. Includes: economic and social data for ~200 countries; market research reports for ~80 countries; company and consumer profiles. We do NOT subscribe to the Sustainability module.
Video demo on how to search in Passport.
Economic and social indicator data redistributed from IMF, UN, World Bank, OECD. Annual data only.
IBISWorld from IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
If on campus and on MU-Secure wifi, use this link.
Collection of industry market research. Modules available: US Industry Reports (organized by NAICS codes), US Industry iExpert Summaries, and US Business Environment Profiles.
Keyword searching doesn't always work well; try browsing the NAICS menu tree also.
ABI/Inform Collection from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage of business conditions, trends, corporate strategies & tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information, plus a variety of other topics. Full text provided for 7,000+ publications. Mostly 1971 to present.
Includes: ABI/Inform Dateline, ABI/Inform Global, and ABI/Inform Trade & Industry.
Workspace from LSEG (formerly Refinitiv Workspace) This link opens in a new window
Individual account registration required. More information on linked page.
Chrome and Safari are the recommended browsers. Intro training videos available here.
For public companies provides: financial data; annual & other reports/filings; analyst & market research reports; M&A, new issues & syndicated loans data. Coverage: ~12,000 US companies & ~41,000 non-US companies.
Download limit of 150 pages / 24-hour period for After Market Research module (aka AMR or Investext).
Formerly called Thomson ONE.

Technology market research databases

Both of these databases are aimed at IT and engineering professionals. This means that there is a considerable learning curve when using them! Allow the necessary time for it ...

Logging in with your MU ID/password is required.

IDC This link opens in a new window
Chrome users - may see issues if already logged into Office 365/eMarq in Chrome.
Log out of Office 365 first or use a different browser.
IDC publishes market research reports and data for these tech sectors: big data/analytics, cloud computing, consumer tech, infrastructure software, Internet of Things (IoT), mobility, networking, security, semiconductors, social business, storage, telecommunications and more. Coverage is global; reports are accessible usually for 18-24 months only. Datasets and Pivot Tables are not included in subscription. Video demo available.
First time users must complete a User Details registration form; your own name will then appear in the upper right corner. The Logout link can be found in the menu under your name.
Getting to the Advanced search: click into the search box in the upper right corner. It will expand, and the link to the Advanced Search is below the textbox.
Vertical sectors covered include: energy, finance, government, health, manufacturing (including supply chain), and retail. (IDC = International Data Corporation.)
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Marquette students, faculty and staff have access to Gartner, a leading source for analysis of information technology trends, suppliers, products and technologies.
Login with your Marquette email and password.

Directory databases

If you're not sure about a NAICS code, use the Census Bureau NAICS look up.

NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)
From the Census Bureau; here you can search by keyword in either the 2012, 2017, or 2022 codes.
Gale Business Insights - companies directory search/filter
Requires a 6-digit NAICS code for industry screening!
Nexis Uni - company directory search
- This link opens in a new window
This link goes to the landing page for Nexis Uni business content and search forms.
Scroll down to Company Dossier, and use:
– "Find a Company": for quick lookups
– "Create a Company List": for creating downloadable lists
more...less...
This database is a portal: it has strong coverage in news, business, and the law.

Education databases

Education Research Complete from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for more than 2,150 journals, as well as full text for nearly 1,200 journals covering such topics as early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Education in ProQuest from Proquest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to large collection of periodicals on all aspects of education including early childhood through higher education. Also includes a collection of magazines for children. 1986 to present.

Chronicle of Higher Education
Full-text of the weekly edition, with a searchable archive. Includes access to the databases of special reporting collected by the Chronicle. 1989-Present.