Milwaukee, the city: Home

Need Help?

Ask us!

Report access issues here →

Subject Librarian

Valerie Beech

Email Me

Contact:

414.288.1998

Subjects: Accounting, Advertising, Business, Career Research, Citation Searching, Communication, Economics, Finance, French, German, Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Linguistics, Management, Marketing, Public Relations, Social Innovation/Entrepreneurship, Spanish, Strategic Communication

About this guide

This guide was written for Dr. Kevin Thomas' fall 2020 ADPR 4750 course, Strategic Communication in a Culturally Diverse Marketplace. The class is working with the client Walnut Way, a non-profit in the Lindsay Heights neighborhood of Milwaukee.

Below are some resources about Walnut Way, the issues affecting minority neighborhoods, and Milwaukee in general.

Walnut Way

Walnut Way Conservation Corp. website
Story Corps conversation between Sharon and Larry Adams
A roughly 3.5 minute conversation between the founders of Walnut Way. They talk about how they met, and how they began restoring houses in the neighborhood.
Community-Wealth.org entry about Walnut Way

Issues affecting minority neighborhoods

Community Development
This is what Walnut Way is doing!
In Encyclopedia of Urban Studies, edited by Ray Hutchison, vol. 1, SAGE Reference, 2010, pp. 176-178. Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Educational Segregation and Desegregation
Encyclopedia of Milwaukee, UW-Milwaukee.
Gentrification
In Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity, edited by Linwood H. Cousins, vol. 2, SAGE Reference, 2014, pp. 586-588. Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Interstate Highway System
In Encyclopedia of Transportation: Social Science and Policy, edited by Mark Garrett, vol. 2, SAGE Reference, 2014, pp. 852-855. Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Read especially the section on The Highway Teardown Movement.
Kept Out: Modern-day redlining (a February 2018 report from Reveal)
Report from Reveal, the Center for Investigative Reporting.
Although Reveal did not find statistically significant evidence of redlining in Milwaukee (use the map), this report explains the new mechanisms that banks have been using.
Kept Out: Gentrification is the unintended consequence of redlining
Again, from Reveal.
Kept Out: What's happened since (October 2018 update)
Redlining, in Encyclopedia of African American Society
edited by Gerald D. Jaynes, vol. 2, SAGE Reference, 2005, pp. 701-702. Gale Virtual Reference Library
Redlining, in Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity
edited by Linwood H. Cousins, vol. 3, SAGE Reference, 2014, pp. 1116-1118. Gale Virtual Reference Library
Urban Renewal, in The American Midwest: An Interpretive Encyclopedia
The American Midwest: An Interpretive Encyclopedia, edited by Richard Sisson, et al., Indiana University Press, 2007, pp. 1191-1193. Gale Virtual Reference Library
Urban Renewal, in The Encyclopedia of Milwaukee
Encyclopedia of Milwaukee, UW-Milwaukee.

About Milwaukee

African Americans (in Milwaukee)
Encyclopedia of Milwaukee, UW-Milwaukee.
Community-Wealth.org entry about Milwaukee
Short overview of the city and its institutions.
Encyclopedia of Milwaukee
A digital humanities project from UW-Milwaukee.
Race and ethnicity in Milwaukee (Encyclopedia of Milwaukee)
~40 articles about the many ethnic groups of Milwaukee.

Milwaukee Stories by Thomas J. Jablonsky (Editor)
Call Number: F 589.M657 M545 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Unlimited users.
Has a section on race and ethnicity, including a chapter on the "Black Working Class, 1915-1925".
Check Marqcat for availability of print copies.
Cream City Chronicles: stories of Milwaukee's past by John Gurda
Call Number: F 589.M657 G86 2007
Publication Date: 2014
Unlimited users.
The best of historian John Gurda's popular Sunday columns from the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel since 1994. Several will be of interest.
Check Marqcat for availability of print copy.
Conservative Counterrevolution: challenging liberalism in 1950s Milwaukee by Tula A. Connell
Call Number: F 589.M657 C66 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Unlimited users.
Has a chapter titled "Race, Class, Free Enterprise, and Suburbia".
Check Marqcat for availability of print copy.

America's Black Holocaust Museum
An online museum about African American History. It was a physical museum here in Milwaukee until 2008; it will reopen later in the spring of 2019.

Milwaukee neighborhood profiles

Above all, try to make a trip to the Memorial Reserves Desk (2nd floor near the Bridge) and see the John Gurda book on Milwaukee's neighborhoods. He's a local historian, and his book is worth the effort. (Sadly, it is not available as an ebook.)

Milwaukee: a City of Neighborhoods by John Gurda; Jan Kotowicz (Artist); Colter Sikora (Maps by)
Call Number: F 589.M657 G88 2015
Location: Memorial level 3
Publication Date: 2015
Check MARQCAT for availability.