Milwaukee, the city: Article search

Local news sources

Milwaukee NNS
The Milwaukee Neighborhood News Service has sections on their website for health & wellness, housing, economic development, and more. "NNS covers stories that are important to the people who live, work and serve in city neighborhoods ..."
more...less...
A project of United Neighborhood Centers of Milwaukee (UNCOM), NNS traces its origins to the Zilber Neighborhood Initiative. Funders have included the Zilber Family Foundation, Greater Milwaukee Foundation, John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, Argosy Foundation, Northwestern Mutual Foundation and Diederich College of Communication at Marquette University.
Shepherd Express
A free, alternative and independent newspaper.

Milwaukee Business Journal from BizJournals.com This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Milwaukee Business Journal. Individual account registration required.

Below are article databases that focus on trade and news publications. (That is, not on scholarly publications!)

ABI/Inform Collection from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage of business conditions, trends, corporate strategies & tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information, plus a variety of other topics. Full text provided for 7,000+ publications. Mostly 1971 to present.
Includes: ABI/Inform Dateline, ABI/Inform Global, and ABI/Inform Trade & Industry.
Business Source Premier from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches business publications; includes company, country, and industry reports. Good coverage of scholarly business publications. Mostly 1984 - present.
In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 1,570 journals. This database contains popular business publications such as Business Week, Forbes, and Harvard Business Review, and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. Also included is Wall Street Words, a dictionary of financial terms, linked directly to words within the citations and full text. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.