MANA 3002 - Business & its Environment: Article Search

Dr. Rehbein's section

Need Help?

Trade journals

Because you're looking at efforts ON CAMPUS, I recommend the following education trade magazines.

Chronicle of Higher Education:

We have a subscription directly to the Chronicle (as it is familiarly called), but I recommend searching using the ProQuest version. The search engine on the Chronicle's own website is poor.

Chronicle of Higher Education
Full-text of the weekly edition, with a searchable archive. Includes access to the databases of special reporting collected by the Chronicle. 1989-Present.
The Chronicle of Higher Education from ProQuest
Via ProQuest; current articles are delayed 30 days. For the most recent content, use the Chronicle's own website, but know that its search engine is poor.

Best database for trade journal coverage:

ABI/Inform Collection from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage of business conditions, trends, corporate strategies & tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information, plus a variety of other topics. Full text provided for 7,000+ publications. Mostly 1971 to present.
Includes: ABI/Inform Dateline, ABI/Inform Global, and ABI/Inform Trade & Industry.

A free website:

Inside Higher Ed
A trade website.

Key journals

Business and Society
1960 - present
Harvard Business Review
1922 - present
Innovations
2006 - 2013
Journal of Corporate Citizenship
- This link opens in a new window
2004 - present
Journal of Social Entrepreneurship
2010 - present.
Unfortunately, this obviously relevant journal is not yet indexed in any of our article databases. To find the articles, you must use it directly on the publisher's platform.
Stanford Social Innovation Review
- This link opens in a new window
2003 - present

Scholarly article databases

General & multidisciplinary:

Although it has no full-text, Web of Science is perhaps the place to start: it is broad and multi-disciplinary, covers scholarly literature almost exclusively, and allows the searcher to see citation patterns. This last item, citation patterns, is important! This is an important tool for finding out which scholars and which papers are the influential ones.

Google Scholar also has a place in the starting lineup: although it can often retrieve too much, it is helpful for identifying keywords and terms for searching. If you're on campus, or using the VPN, it also provides links to full-text content (FindIt@MU links), and links to Web of Science.

The subject-specific databases can be very helpful too, because they will have filters/limits that help you find the most relevant results.

Click here for instructions on off-campus access.

Web of Science from Clarivate Analytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches 12,000+ scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities. Cited Reference Search locates articles that have cited an older document. Limited full-text access.
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); the Science Citation Index and the Social Science Citation Index (1900-present for both); and the Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Use Google Scholar to supplement research in other databases.

Academic Search Complete from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Searches 7000+ journals and magazines across all disciplines, mostly full-text. Emphasis on scholarly journals. 1985 - present.
ProQuest Research Collections from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Searches full-text of 7000+ journals and magazines across disciplines. Includes general interest, news publications, and scholarly journals. Late 1980s - present.
Proquest Research Collections is made up of several Proquest collections: AltPress Watch, Genderwatch, ProQuest: Asian Business and Reference, Biology Journals, Computing, Criminal Justice Journals, Education Journals, European Business, Health and Medical Complete, Medical Library, Military Collection, Psychology Journals, Religion, Research Library, Science Journals, Social Science Journals, and Telecommunications.
SAGE Journals Online from Sage This link opens in a new window
Searches full text articles of SAGE journals (approximately 900 titles). Emphasis on the health and social sciences. 1982 - present.

General business:

ABI/Inform Global from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches in business publications; includes market, industry and country reports. Good coverage of the scholarly business literature. Mostly 1971 - present.
Approximately 3,000 titles.
Business Source Premier from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches business publications; includes company, country, and industry reports. Good coverage of scholarly business publications. Mostly 1984 - present.
In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 1,570 journals. This database contains popular business publications such as Business Week, Forbes, and Harvard Business Review, and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. Also included is Wall Street Words, a dictionary of financial terms, linked directly to words within the citations and full text. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.

Economics:

EconLit from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches citations and some full-text of economic research publications: includes journal articles; books, book chapters and book reviews; working papers; dissertations. 1969 - present.
An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL), produced by the American Economic Association. Covers both economic theory and application.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) - Working Papers from NBER This link opens in a new window
Working papers of researchers at the NBER.
The topical areas that NBER focuses on are: Aging, Asset Pricing, Children, Corporate Finance, Development of the American Economy, Economics of Education, Economic Fluctuations and Growth, Environmental and Energy Economics, Health Care, Health, Industrial Organization, International Finance and Macroeconomics, International Trade and Investment, Labor Studies, Law and Economics, Monetary Economics, Political Economy, Productivity, Stocks, Bonds, and Foreign Currency/Asset Pricing, and Taxation/Public Economics/Government Spending.

Education:

ERIC from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents from the Education Resource Information Center (ERIC). 1966 to the present.
Education Research Complete from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for more than 2,150 journals, as well as full text for nearly 1,200 journals covering such topics as early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

Environmental science:

Environment Complete from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Full-text for 750+ journals on environmentally-related topics.
Health Sciences & Nursing in ProQuest from Proquest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes citations and abstracts of scholarly journals, magazines and trade publications in nursing, psychology, and allied health.
Full-text is available for many of the journals and also for more than 11,000 dissertations. Also includes evidence-based resources from the Joanna Briggs Institute: Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets.

Getting the Articles

Here's a short video showing how Find it @ MU works. (About 4 minutes long.)

Two common ways to find out if the Libraries have access to the articles you need:

1) You are searching in an article database, but it doesn't have the full-text:

Click on in the article citation. Another window / tab opens with two possible options:

Links indicating Find it @MU may have located one or more sources for full text of the article. Click on the links and follow the trail to the article.
Links to search MARQCAT by the journal title or its ISSN number. The journal may be available in print or electronically through a source not searchable by Find it @MU.

2) You already have a specific citation and aren't currently searching in a database:

Use MARQCAT's Advanced Search to search for the journal title.

The MARQCAT record will indicate what years we have in print and/or online, providing call number locations for the print and links to the e-journal. Once at the e-journal, navigate to the volume, issue and page that you need.

Questions:

Didn't find the article/journal using Find it @MU or MARQCAT? Request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) by clicking on the link at the bottom of the Find it @MU window or tab. Learn more about ILL here.

Ever wonder why the full-text isn't there? Watch this short video about the Business of Information.

Marquette University

Raynor Library