Online Learning: For Students

A research guide to help faculty and students find, access, and navigate online materials available through the library

Need Help?

Chat with an AJCU librarian

Chat with backup staff

Need in-depth help? Schedule a one on one research consultation.

What is available to online learners?

Online students and faculty have access to most of the same resources and support from Marquette University that are available to students and teachers on-campus. All you need is your CheckMarq username and password (the same as you use for email and D2L). 

Our online resources include: 

  • E-books: These can be read online, and some can be downloaded or checked out.
  • Articles in online journals and magazines:  The library subscribes to several hundred article databases.  Many can be searched all at once through MARQCATplus.  For complex searching, we recommend that you search the databases individually.
  • Data databases:  For business, there are also databases of data.  You must search these individually.

Ask a Librarian!

If you're having an issue finding or accessing online materials or need research support - ask us! Librarians from the information desk and the digital scholarship lab are working remotely to help you. 

At this time, we recommend that you use our 24/7 chat box (yes, it's really 24/7! you can find it on our homepage). Or you can schedule a remote research appointment with a research librarian or a digital scholarship librarian- see the links below. 

The "Ask a Librarian" link below directs you a page with a variety of ways to reach us. 

Video - Overview of the Library Homepage

Getting Started

  1. Off-Campus Access and the Authentication process: To access online materials, the vendors need to know that you're affiliated with Marquette.  A process called authentication tells them that. There are two modes of authentication: Library login and the VPNLearn more about the two methods of authentication
  2. Getting to the online resources.  These links will redirect you to another page of this research guide. 
       –   MARQCATplus search: this tool works well when you start your research (great launching pad, terrible landing space)
       –   Advanced Search Tools: for more complex searching, search individual databases in your subject area.
    You can also find all of our resources from the libraries' homepage.
  3. Register for distance services.  Learn more about distance services. Please note that due to limited library resources during COVID-19, the library may not be able to provide all of these services. 

Off-Campus Access Authentication Methods

  • Library Login:  This method (a proxy server) is quick and easy, and requires no setup.  But a few databases will not work with it, and it is less reliable when there is heavy internet traffic or a slow connection.
  • VPN (virtual private network): The VPN requires you to download an app onto both your cell phone and your computer.  It is much more reliable during times of heavy internet traffic, and is well worth the necessary setup time. Outline of the steps required for the VPN:
    1. Find detailed VPN instructions here.
    2. Email ITS (helpdesk@marquette.edu) to ask for "the VPN registration invitation email".
    3. When you receive that email invitation, register for Duo Mobile.
    4. Download the Duo Mobile app onto your cell phone. Make sure you allow push notifications for it.
    5. Download the GlobalProtect app onto your computer.

Although the detailed instructions page refers you to Information Technology Services for help, at the Raynor Information Desk we can also help with some parts of the process.  Give us a call at (414) 288-7556.

Distance Services

The Library’s Distance Services program can deliver materials to you that are not available directly via our online full-text databases and e-book collections.  This includes electronic delivery of book chapters/articles and delivery of hard copy books via UPS. 

Please note that not all services may be available due to limited staff during COVID-19.