Middle East and North Africa: Middle East and North Africa

Preview

This page provides examples of the kinds of reference works available on Islam as well as suggestions on how to find more like them.

To find more encyclopedias on Islam go to the Advanced Keyword Screen below, change the first search window to Subject by clicking on the drop-down arrow to the right of Any Field, and search on: Islam encyclopedias.

Another strategy is to change the first window to Title and search on terms like this: encyclopedia and north africa.

Boxes in this Column

Encyclopedias
Dictionaries
Companions, Handbooks, and Guides
Advanced Keyword Screen

Encyclopedias

You can search several encyclopedias about Islam online through Oxford Islamic Studies Online. Start with the main Search function. You can refine your searches in several ways.

Encyclopaedia of Islam by H.A.R. Gibb [and others], eds.
Call Number: DS37 .E523 Raynor Reference
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Biographical encyclopedia of the modern Middle East and North Africa by Michael R. Fischbach, editor
Call Number: CT1866 .B56 2008 Raynor Reference
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East & North Africa by Philip Mattar, editor
Call Number: DS43 .E53 2004 Raynor Reference
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
The Middle East and North Africa 2012 by Europa Publications
Call Number: DS 49 .M5 Raynor Reference
Publication Date: 2012
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States by Jocelyne Cesari (Editor)
Call Number: 2007 Raynor Reference
Publication Date: 2007
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world by Richard C. Martin, ed.
Call Number: BP40 .E525 2004 Raynor Reference
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Oxford encyclopedia of the modern Islamic world by John L. Esposito, editor
Call Number: DS35.53 .O95 1995 Raynor Reference
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Encyclopedia of Arabic literature by Julie Scott Meisami and Paul Starkey, eds.
Call Number: PJ7510 .E53 1998 Raynor Reference
ISBN: 0415068088
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Encyclopaedia Iranica by Ehsan Yarshater, editor
Call Number: DS253 .E53 1985 Memorial Level 2
Publication Date: 1985-
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record.

Dictionaries

For detailed instructions on finding dictionaries click on Dictionaries and Thesauri. Or do a Subject search in MARQCAT on: Islam dictionaries. For Subject searching click on the Start Here tab and scroll down.

Oxford dictionary of Islam by John L. Esposito, editor
Call Number: BP40 .O95 2003 Raynor Reference
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Penguin dictionary of Islam by Azim Nanji
Call Number: BP40 .N35 2008 Memorial Level 1
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Popular dictionary of Islam by Ian Richard Netton
Call Number: BP40 .N48 1992 Raynor Reference
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.

Advanced Keyword Screen

Advanced Keyword Search

Please fill in the boxes, select limits, and click
Submit (or choose a Simple Keyword Search):

Limit to:

Collection:
Location:
Language:
Year:	After and Before
Publisher:
Material Type:
Search and Sort:

Companions, Handbooks, and Guides

Blackwell companion to contemporary Islamic thought by Ibrahim M. Abu-Rabiʻ, editor
Call Number: 2006 Memorial Level 1
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.

For detailed instructions on finding these kinds of reference works click on Companions, Handbooks, and Guides. Or do a a combined Subject and Title search in the Advanced Keyword Screen. Do the Subject search on: Islam. Do the Title search on: Companion. For the Advanced Keyword Screen go to the box below this one.

Cambridge companion to classical Islamic theology by Tim Winter, editor
Call Number: BP166.1 .C36 2008 Memorial Level 1
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Companion to the history of the Middle East by Youssef M. Choueiri, editor
Call Number: DS62 .C63 2005 Memorial Level 2
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
A companion to the Muslim world by Amyn B. Sajoo, ed.
Call Number: BP161.3 .C65 2009 Memorial Level 1
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Handbook of Muslims in India : empirical and policy perspectives by Rakesh Basant and Abusaleh Shariff, eds.
Call Number: DS432.M84 H35 2010 Memorial Level 2
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Yearbook of Muslims in Europe
Call Number: D1056.2.M87 Y43 Raynor Reference
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.