test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Companions, Handbooks, and Guides 

These reference works offer introductions to subjects, whether they be whole disciplines, prominent topics, or individual thinkers.
Last update: Aug 12, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/companions  Print Guide  RSS Updates

What are these things?             Print Page
  

Quick Links

Need Help?

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian: 414.288.7556

Email a Librarian

Research Consultation

 
 

Companions, Handbooks, and Guides

These reference works are designed to give comprehensive introductions to their subjects.  They are excellent when you are beginning a research project and need an intellectual map of how to proceed.  They are also handy for answering questions as you go.  Here are a few examples of each type; click on the links and take a look at the tables of contents:

Handbooks

Oxford Handbook of Political Theory
Disaster Nursing: A Handbook for Practice
Handbook of Oral History
Mathematical Handbook for Electrical Engineers
Victorian Literature Handbook

Companions

A Companion to Plato
A Physics Companion
Blackwell Companion to Sociology of Religion
Companion to Historiography
Pocket Companion for Physical Examination and Health Assessment

Guides

MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing
Columbia Guide to Central African Literature in English Since 1945
Cardiopulmonary Physical Therapy: A Guide to Practice
Evolution and Creationism: a Documentary and Reference Guide
Punitive Damages: a State by State Guide to Law and Practice

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait