In This Guide:

Peace Studies: Peacebuilding

Articles on Peacebuilding

Peace Research Abstracts from EBSCO
Index of articles on peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, etc. Some full text.
PsycINFO from EBSCO
Guest Access
Comprehensive index of scholarly journal articles, books and dissertations in psychology and related fields. 1800s-present.

Subject coverage includes basic and applied psychology, abnormal and clinical psychology, experimental psychology, human and animal development, social psychology, professional psychology and educational psychology. Also includes bibliographic citations and abstracts of periodical articles, reports and dissertations, books and chapters. 1987 to present for books and chapters; 1872 to present for journal articles and other material. VPN required if off-campus and also using RefWorks.
Political Science Database from ProQuest
Contains political science, public policy, and international relations scholarly journals; recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics; working papers; country reports (EIU); conference proceedings, policy papers and other sources. Dates of coverage: 1985 – present.
SAGE Journals Online from Sage
Searches full text articles of SAGE journals (approximately 900 titles). Emphasis on the health and social sciences. 1982 - present.
PAIS Index from ProQuest
Search for a wide range of documents related to current events, public policy, and social sciences. 1972 to present.

Indexes books, pamphlets, and publications of the U.S. government and of international organizations, in addition to selected articles in 1400 periodicals.

Finding Books on Peacebuilding

The items featured on this page provide examples of a much larger number of books on peace and peace building at Marquette. To find these additional books try these strategies.

Option 1
Find a book on this page relevant to your interests, look at the MARQCAT record for it, and find the categories listed under Subject. Click on a category and you will go to the records of all books we have under that Subject. The Subject categories are "more like this" buttons.

Option 2
Do a Subject search in MARQCAT on: peace building. To do that go to the box below, use the dropdown arrow to change it to Subject, enter peace building, and click on Go. Survey the list of subject headings that begin with peace building to refine your search. A much larger category is simply: peace. Use the subcategories under it to get a manageable set of hits. A few examples are provided.

MARQCAT Search

Databases A-Z | Research Guides

Advanced Search

Overviews and Introductions

These are examples of the many books available about this subject. To find additional ones see Finding Books on Peacemaking above.

Justice and mercy will kiss : the vocation of peacemaking in a world of many faiths by Michael K. Duffey & Deborah S. Nash, editors
Call Number: BL65.P4 J87 2008 Memorial Library Level 1

Publication Date: 2008

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
The Peace Book: 108 Simple Ways to Create a More Peaceful World by Louise Diamond
Call Number: JZ5538 .D53 2001 Memorial Level 4 Lower

Publication Date: 2001

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Peacemaking Christians by Michael K. Duffey
Call Number: BT736.4 .D84 1995 Memorial Level 1

Publication Date: 1995

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
The Little Book of Conflict Transformation by John Paul Lederach
Call Number: HM1126 .L43 2003 Memorial Level 4 Upper

Publication Date: 2003

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
The Impossible Will Take a Little While by Paul Rogat Loeb (Editor)
Call Number: HN65 .I46 2004 Memorial Level 4 Upper

Publication Date: 2004

In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
From Dictatorship to Democracy by Gene Sharp
Publication Date: 2002

Online only. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
The Powers That Be: theology for a new millennium by Walter Wink
Call Number: BS2545.P663 W562 1998 Memorial Level 1

Publication Date: 1998

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
From War to Peace: a guide to the next hundred years by Kent D. Shifferd
Call Number: JZ5574 .S54 2011 Memorial Level 4 Lower

Publication Date: 2011

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
UN Peacekeeping in Africa by Adekeye Adebajo
Call Number: JZ4997.5.A35 A34 2011

Publication Date: 2011

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks

These are examples of the many books available about this subject. To find additional ones see the tab Encyclopedias and Dictionaries.

A Handbook of International Peace Building by John Paul Lederach (Editor); Janice Moomaw Jenner (Editor)
Call Number: JZ6374 .H36 2002 Memorial Level 4 Lower

Publication Date: 2002

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Encyclopedia of Peace Psychology by Daniel J. Christie (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: JZ5533 .E65 2012 Memorial Level 4 Lower

Publication Date: 2011

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Sage Handbook of Conflict Resolution by Jacob Bercovitch (Editor); Victor Kremenyuk (Editor); I. William Zartman (Editor)
Call Number: JZ6045 .S24 2009 Memorial Level 4 Lower

Publication Date: 2008-12-19

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Peace, Security and Conflict Prevention by Stockholm International Peace Research Institute Staff; UNESCO Staff; Janusz Symonides (Introduction by)
Call Number: JX1905 .P43 1998 Memorial Level 4 Lower

Publication Date: 1998

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Encyclopedia of War Crimes and Genocide by Leslie Alan Horvitz
ISBN: 9781438134864

Publication Date: 2011

Online only. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Handbook on Building Cultures of Peace by Joseph de Rivera
Call Number: JZ5538 .H364 2009 Memorial Level 4 Lower

Publication Date: 2008

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Sharp's Dictionary of Power and Struggle by Gene Sharp; Adam Roberts (Foreword by)
Call Number: HM1281 .S525 2012 Memorial Level 4 Upper

Publication Date: 2011

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Handbook of Peace and Conflict Studies by Charles Webel (Editor); Johan Galtung (Editor)
Call Number: JZ5538 .H36 2007 Memorial Level 4 Lower

Publication Date: 2007

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Historical Dictionary of Civil Wars in Africa by Guy Arnold
Publication Date: 2008

Online only. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.

Specialized Scholarly Studies

These are examples of the many books available about this subject. To find additional ones see the suggestions in the box on the upper left.

A Force More Powerful: a century of nonviolent conflict by Jack Duvall; Peter Ackerman; Duvall Jack
Call Number: HM 1281 .A25 2000
Memorial Level 4 Upper

Publication Date: 2000

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Peacemaking by Andrea Bartoli (Editor); Susan Allen Nan (Editor); Zachariah Cherian Mampilly (Editor)
Call Number: JZ5538 .P3744 2012 2 vols.: Memorial Level 4 Lower

Publication Date: 2011-10-01

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Hope and Reconciliation in Northern Ireland by Ronald A. Wells
Call Number: DA990.U46 W447 2010
Memorial Level 2

Publication Date: 2011

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Sowing Justice, Reaping Peace: case studies of racial, religious, and ethnic healing around the world by Michael K. Duffey
Call Number: BX 1753 .D84 2001
Memorial Level 1

Publication Date: 2001

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Cradle to Cradle: remaking the way we make things by William McDonough; Michael Braungart
Call Number: TD 794.5 .M395 2002
Memorial Level 5

Publication Date: 2002

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Pathologies of Power by Paul Farmer; Amartyá Sen (Foreword by)
Call Number: HM 821 .F37 2003
Memorial Level 4 Upper

Publication Date: 2003-04-25

In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Kingdom to Commune: Protestant pacifist culture between World War I and the Vietnam era by Patricia Appelbaum
Call Number: BT 736.6 .A67 2009
Memorial Level 1

Publication Date: 2009

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Nonviolence and Peace Building in Islam by Mohammed Abu-Nimer
Call Number: BP 190.5.V56 A28 2003
Memorial Level 1

Publication Date: 2003

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Gandhi and Jesus: the saving power of nonviolence by Terrence J. Rynne
Call Number: BT 736.6 .R85 2008
Memorial Level 1

Publication Date: 2008

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
A Paradise Built in Hell : the extraordinary communities that arise in disaster by Rebecca Solnit
Call Number: HV553 .S59 2009 Memorial Level 4 Upper

Publication Date: 2009

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
How Enemies Become Friends: the sources of stable peace by Charles Kupchan
Call Number: JZ5538 .K87 2010 Memorial Level 4 Lower

Publication Date: 2010

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.