Peace Studies: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries...

Need Help?

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks on Human Rights

These are examples of a much larger collection of reference books on these topics. To find more see the box below.

A Dictionary of Human Rights by David Robertson (Editor)
Call Number: K 3239.3 .R67 2004 Raynor Reference
Publication Date: 2004
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945 by Winston E. Langley
Call Number: JC 571 .L2747 1999 Raynor Reference
Publication Date: 1999
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights by David P. Forsythe (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009
Online only. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Encyclopedia of War Crimes and Genocide by Leslie Alan Horvitz; Christopher Catherwood
Call Number: HV 6322.7 .H67 2006 Raynor Reference
Publication Date: 2006
Online only. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Handbook of Human Rights by Thomas Cushman (Editor)
Call Number: JC 571 .H34755 2012 Memorial Level 4 Upper
Publication Date: 2011
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Local Action/Global Change: a handbook on women's human rights by Julie A. Mertus; Nancy Flowers
Call Number: HQ 1236 .M428 2008 Memorial Level 4 Upper
Publication Date: 2008
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.

Find Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks on Peace Building

These are examples of the many reference books available about this subject. To find more see the box above: "Find Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks."

Encyclopedia of Peace Psychology by Daniel J. Christie (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: JZ 5533 .E65 2012 Memorial Level 4 Lower
Publication Date: 2011
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict by Lester R. Kurtz (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Ref HM 291 .E625 2008
Publication Date: 2008
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
A Handbook of International Peace Building by John Paul Lederach (Editor); Janice Moomaw Jenner (Editor)
Call Number: JZ 6374 .H36 2002 Memorial Level 4 Lower
Publication Date: 2002
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Handbook of Peace and Conflict Studies by Charles Webel (Editor); Johan Galtung (Editor)
Call Number: JZ 5538 .H36 2007 Memorial Level 4 Lower
Publication Date: 2007
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Handbook on Building Cultures of Peace by Joseph de Rivera
Call Number: JZ 5538 .H364 2009 Memorial Level 4 Lower
Publication Date: 2008
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Peace, Security and Conflict Prevention by Stockholm International Peace Research Institute Staff; UNESCO Staff; Janusz Symonides (Introduction by)
Call Number: JX 1905 .P43 1998 Memorial Level 4 Lower
Publication Date: 1998
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Sage Handbook of Conflict Resolution by Jacob Bercovitch (Editor); Victor Kremenyuk (Editor); I. William Zartman (Editor)
Call Number: JZ 6045 .S24 2009 Memorial Level 4 Lower
Publication Date: 2008
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Sharp's Dictionary of Power and Struggle by Gene Sharp; Adam Roberts (Foreword by)
Call Number: Memorial Level 4 Upper
Publication Date: 2011
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.

Annual reports of NGOs in this Field

Here are some of the annual reports produced by some of the big international organizations. Often these reports will focus on a specific topic, in addition to the material that they report on every year.

Economic Development in Africa by United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
Online only. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Global Monitoring Reports by World Bank, International Monetary Fund
In print and only. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Human Development Report by United Nations
Call Number: HD 72 .H85
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Human Rights Watch World Report
Call Number: Law Library JC 571 .H785
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Least Developed Countries Report by United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
Online only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
State of the World's Children by UNICEF
Call Number: HQ 792.2 .S73
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
World Development Indicators by World Bank
Call Number: HC 59.69 .S63
WDI are available as both pdfs and as data only online. The pdfs go back to 2005; the data can go back to 1960, depending on the variable.
Print editions for ? - 2005 are available on Memorial level 3. Click here to check on print availability.
World Health Report by World Health Organization
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
World Investment Reports by United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
Call Number: HD 2755.5 .W65
Online only. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks on Development

These are examples of the many reference books available about this subject. To find more see the box above: "Find Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks."