Medical Laboratory Sciences: Article Search

Guide for information and researching clinical laboratory sciences

Need Help?

Why Articles?

Articles appear in magazines, journals, periodicals, and newspapers. Use articles for:

most recent research on a topic
coverage of very narrow topics
coverage of current events
contemporary accounts of past events and research

Article Databases

Databases provide a systematic method of searching for articles, and other documents, on your topic. The top databases for biomedical sciences are:

CINAHL from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Indexes journals, dissertations, and other materials in nursing and allied health. Includes full-text for 610+ journals.
Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Indexes health sciences journals, many with full-text. Also includes drug information and a medical dictionary.
Health Sciences & Nursing in ProQuest from Proquest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes citations and abstracts of scholarly journals, magazines and trade publications in nursing, psychology, and allied health.
Full-text is available for many of the journals and also for more than 11,000 dissertations. Also includes evidence-based resources from the Joanna Briggs Institute: Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets.
PubMed from National Institutes of Health This link opens in a new window
International coverage of over 5,600 journals in biomedicine, including allied health, nursing, and dentistry. Limited full-text. 1946 - present.
If email and send to functions do not work correctly, use this link.
Includes access to other NCBI databases including molecular biology and genomic resources.
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews -- See: Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library from Wiley This link opens in a new window
Works best through Chrome
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Clinical Answers, and other evidence-based resources.
TOXNET from National Institutes of Health This link opens in a new window
Provides access to databases on toxicology and hazardous chemicals. 1965-present.

Health and Environmental Research Online (HERO) | US EPA
"HERO contains the key studies EPA uses to develop environmental risk assessments for the public. EPA uses risk assessments to characterize the nature and magnitude of health risks to humans and the ecosystem from pollutants and chemicals in the environment." Search (at right) or browse (at left) by topics in 3 categories: Air Pollutants, Chemicals & Substances, and Health & Environmental Effects.
more...less...
Includes publications of many different types, not just articles.
SciFinder - registration for first time users
- This link opens in a new window
You will have to enter your name, MU email address (using marquette.edu, not mu.edu,) create a user name and password, and select and answer a security question. At that point you will receive the following message:
“You will receive an e-mail message from CAS that includes a link and instructions for completing the registration process. You must click the link within 48 hours. If not, you will need to begin the registration process again.”
SciFinder Web log in page **use this link after you've registered
The content is identical to SciFinder Scholar. It uses a web search interface rather than the client software. **Requires VPN for off campus access.

Getting the Articles

Here's a short video showing how Find it @ MU works. (About 4 minutes long.)

Two common ways to find out if the Libraries have access to the articles you need:

1) You are searching in an article database, but it doesn't have the full-text:

Click on in the article citation. Another window / tab opens with two possible options:

Links indicating Find it @MU may have located one or more sources for full text of the article. Click on the links and follow the trail to the article.
Links to search MARQCAT by the journal title or its ISSN number. The journal may be available in print or electronically through a source not searchable by Find it @MU.

2) You already have a specific citation and aren't currently searching in a database:

Use MARQCAT's Advanced Search to search for the journal title.

The MARQCAT record will indicate what years we have in print and/or online, providing call number locations for the print and links to the e-journal. Once at the e-journal, navigate to the volume, issue and page that you need.

Questions:

Didn't find the article/journal using Find it @MU or MARQCAT? Request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) by clicking on the link at the bottom of the Find it @MU window or tab. Learn more about ILL here.

Ever wonder why the full-text isn't there? Watch this short video about the Business of Information.

Clinical Laboratory Science Journals @ Marquette

***If accessing away from campus verification through proxy server or VPN maybe required. Click here for instructions ***

Laboratory Diagnosis and Clinical Laboratory Science

Clinical Laboratory Science:Covers subspecialties of medical technology.

Critical Reviews in Clinical Laboratory Sciences: Covers biochemistry, detection and immunobiology of diseases, with interest to cancer.

Laboratory Medicine: Monthly publication with continuing education, career development and news for the laboratory community.

Clinical Chemistry

Clinical Chemistry: Covers areas of clinical chemistry, clinical immunology, hematology, and laboratory management.

Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine: Fundamental and applied research in clinical biochemistry, clinical molecular biology, hematology, immunology and drug monitoring and analysis.

Hematology

American Journal of Hematology:Covers clinical and experimental features of blood diseases, hemostasis, thrombosis, immunology, blood banking and stem biology.

Blood: Cover laboratory, translational and clinical investigations of hematology.

International Journal of Laboratory Hematology: Covers laboratory, translational and clinical investigations of hematology.

Immunohematology/Immunology/Serology

Transfusion Medicine: Covers transfusion medicine including blood transfusion practice, immunohematology, immunogenetics, histocompatibility, medico-legal applications, and related molecular biology and biotechnology.

Immunology: Covers aspects of immunology including cellular immunology, molecular immunology and immunogenetics.

Clinical and Vaccine Immunology: Clinical research in viral immunology, immunopathogenesis and clinical laboratory immunology.

Immunological Investigations: journal of molecular and cellular immunology

American Journal of Immunology: Research on molecular and cellular immunology.

FEMS Immunology and Microbiology: Reviews and research in immunology, medicinal microbiology, cell biology/biochemistry of infectious diseases, molecular biology and genetics of pathogens.

Microbiology

Clinical Microbiology & Infection: Covers pathogenesis, diagnosis, epidemiology, therapy and prevention of infectious diseases.

Clinical Microbiology Reviews: Covers clinical microbiology and immunology aspects including pathogenetics mechanisms, microbial pathogen, clinical and laboratory technologies.

Pathology

Archives of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine:Covers molecular pathology, cytogenetics, cytometry and medical laboratory medicine.

American Journal of Clinical Pathology: Contains original studies and observations in clinical pathology.

BMC Clinical Pathology: Covers aspects of histopathology, hematology clinical biochemistry and medical microbiology.

Related Resources

British Journal of Biomedical Sciences: Contains authoritative papers, short reports on new laboratory techniques and principles and reviews of new books.

Infectious Diseases by Center for Disease Control: Covers disease emergence, prevention and elimination around the world. Free, open source journal.