Industry Information: Encyclopedias...

Need Help?

Online reference collections

I suggest starting with these online reference collections. But below there are titles of individual encyclopedias and dictionaries ... and links to some of them.

Gale eBooks from Gale This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 400+ resources covering a broad selection of topics.
Covers arts, business, communication, drama, history, medicine, religion, social science and more.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Industries
Call Number: Ref HC 102 .E53 2001
More recent edition available online within the database Business Insights - Essentials. Use the "Search Within Results" box to refine your search.
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Call Number: HD 2324 .E527
The current edition is online via Business Insights - Essentials. Use the "Search Within Results" box (upper left corner) to refine your search.
In print, we have a couple of older editions (1998 and 2000).
Extractives, manufacturing, and services: a historiographical and bibliographical guide by David O. Whitten and Bessie E. Whitten, editors
Call Number: Ref HC 103 .H19 1990 v.2
Infrastructure and services: a historiographical and bibliographical guide by David O. Whitten and Bessie E. Whitten, editors
Call Number: Ref HC 103 .H19 1990 v.3
Manufacturing: a historiographical and bibliographical guide by David O. Whitten and Bessie E. Whitten, editors
Call Number: Ref HC 103 .H19 1990 v.1
ISBN: 0313251983
A guide to the history of business in the US and sources about it ... Although this 3-volume set was begun in 1990, the latest volume is from 2000. See next two entries ...
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
Call Number: Ref HC 106.6 .S74
A classic reference source ...