Journalism: Historical Newspapers

Guide to doing research for Journalism

Need Help?

Ask us!

Historical and Specialized Newspaper Databases

17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers from Gale This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text of early English-language news media for the period 1600-1800. The Topic Guide contains more information about this collection.
See Topic Guide for more information.
17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection from Gale This link opens in a new window
Charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into 17th-18th century England.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers from Milwaukee Public Library This link opens in a new window
Requires Milwaukee Public Library card and PIN. Searches full text of the Milwaukee Journal and Milwaukee Sentinel in the late 19th and early 20th centuries (1800-1920).
African American Newspapers from Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Full-text of 11 African-American historical newspapers 1827-1957.
Details on publications available here: http://www.accessible-archives.com/collections/african-american-newspapers/
African American Newspapers from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nine full-text African American newspapers from the 20th century.
Full-text archives of: Atlanta Daily World, 1931-2003; Baltimore Afro-American, 1893-1988; Chicago Defender, 1909-1975; Cleveland Call & Post, 1934-1991; Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005; New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993; Norfolk Journal & guide, 1922-1993; Philadelphia Tribune, 1912-2001; Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002. Individual newspapers can be searched via MARQCAT.
America's Historical Newspapers from Readex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text of American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922.
Available here: Series 1: 1690-1876 and Series 3: 1829-1922.
Black Literature Index from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Included in the Black Studies Center. Index of the Black Literature microfiche collection. Searches fiction, poetry and literary reviews in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.

Chicago Defender Archive (1910-1975)
Full-text of the Chicago Defender, an African-American newspaper with a national audience. 1910-1975

Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876 from Newsbank This link opens in a new window
18th and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers
covering colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World slavery and more.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers from Library of Congress This link opens in a new window
Search and view approximately 200 U.S. newspapers published from 1880-1922.
Searches hundreds of full-text U.S. newspapers from across the country. 1880-1922.
Independent Voices from Reveal Digital This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals published during the latter half of the 20th century.
World Newspaper Archive—African Newspapers from Readex This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to historical newspapers from Africa. 1800-1925.
World Newspaper Archive—Latin American Newspapers from Readex This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to historical newspapers from Latin America, 1800-1925.
World Newspaper Archive—South Asian Newspapers from Readex This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to historical newspapers from South Asia, 1800-1925.