Health Statistics: Additional Web Sites

Includes key sources for accessing health statistics.

Need Help?

Ask us!

Aggregate Assessment

Health Compass Dashboard
Population, economic, education, environment and more - scroll through list to see rows with check marks for zip code level information
ARDA - Association of Religion Data Archives
Provides religion data at the county level.
City of Milwaukee - Common Council
Proceedings; member bios, committee assignments, initiatives and more.
Milwaukee County - government homepage
Find out about the county executive, members of the board of supervisors and other elected officials, and more.
MCTS - Milwaukee County Transit System
NACCHO Model Practice Database
Provides descriptions of innovative public health practice models from local health departmnets. Searchable by model or state name. NACCHO = National Association of County & City Health Officials.
Latino Milwaukee: a statistical portrait - 2016
From the UW-Milwaukee Center for Economic Development, commissioned by the Greater Milwaukee Foundation.
Vital Signs - from the Greater Milwaukee Foundation
A study benchmarking the four-county metro Milwaukee region against 15 other regions, 50+ different indicators.
2017 is the most recent report, 2015 and 2013 also accessible.

Specific demographics

Health disparities and health equity:

Health Equity in Healthy People 2030
US Dept of Health and Human Services, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. ... "provides 10-year, measurable public health objectives — and tools to help track progress toward achieving them."
Minority Health Report, 2018-2020 -- Advancing Health Equity in Wisconsin
WI Department of Health Services, 2/2022.
National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports
From the Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality.
2021 Wisconsin Health and Equity Report Card
University of Wisconsin, Population Health Institute.

Aged and elderly:

AgingStats.gov
From the Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics.

Children:

Children's Defense Fund
See especially their factsheets and issue briefs and their reports and publications.
ChildStats.gov
Kids Count Data Center - Annie E. Casey Foundation
See their Kids Count Data Book, and more.

Veterans:

Homelessness/housing

HUD Annual Homelessness Assessment Reports (AHAR)
Provides nationwide estimates of homelessness, including information about the demographic characteristics of homeless persons, service use patterns, and the capacity to house homeless persons.
HUD Exchange - CoC Dashboard Reports
CoC = Continuum of Care. Here's their 2022 report for Wisconsin.
HUD Exchange - PIT and HIC data since 2007
Point-in-Time (PIT) estimates of homelessness and Housing Inventory Count (HIC) data from the US Dept of Housing and Urban Development.
more...less...
PIT Counts provide counts of sheltered and unsheltered people experiencing homelessness on a single night. Counts are provided by household type:
  –  Households with at least one adult and one child;
  –  Households without children; and
  –  Household with only children
The Housing Inventory Count collects information about all of the beds and units in each Continuum of Care homeless system, categorized by Project Types.
HUD user datasets
The HUD Office of Policy Development & Research data landing page.
Out of Reach (NLIHC)
Annual report from the National Low Income Housing Coalition.
Homelessness and Special Needs Services - Publications of HUD, Office of Policy Devopment & Research
Milwaukee Homeless Veterans Initiative
National Healthcare for the Homeless Council - Research publications
Since 1986, this organization has been advocating for healthcare for the homeless. See also their policy issues page and their monthly blog for in-depth discussions of issues.
Wisconsin Point-in-Time Data from the Institute for Community Alliances
A Tableau dashboard. See also reports for 2019, 2018, and 2016.

Additional Health Statistics Sites

Health Disparities

Healthy People/Healthiest Wisconsin

Wisconsin/States/Counties

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - State Snapshots
Health Data and Profiles for STLTs
- Links to datasources at the state, local and tribal levels.
Kaiser State Health Facts
SEER -- Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results
University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute
Publications section includes Wisconsin County Health Rankings.
Wisconsin Department of Administration - Demographic Services
Wisconsin County Health Rankings and Roadmap
- From the CDC, county rankings in the state of Wisconsin.

Portals and Surveys

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - Data Resources
Includes data on healthcare costs and expenditures.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
Finding and Using Health Statistics: A Self-Study Course
HCUPnet (Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project)
- Data on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.
HCUP
Health & Medical Care Archive
Health-Related Quality of Life
HSRIC Data, Tools, and Statistics
MedlinePlus: Health Statistics
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce: Health Data Tools and Statistics
World Health Organization - Data

Google

Evaluating Websites

Lack of systematic quality control means critical evaluation of Web sites is crucial. When evaluating web resources, consider:

Authority: Is the author or site sponsor clearly identified? Can you find credentials and contact information?
Objectivity: Is the site's purpose clear? Is it directed toward a specific audience?
Coverage: Are the topics covered clear? In depth? Balanced? Are ideas and opinions backed up by evidence?
Accuracy: Are sources cited? Can you verify accuracy of facts and other information with other sources in the field?
Currency: Are the dates included in the website? Is the information current, or at least still relevant for the site's and your purpose?

Taken from: Ramage, Bean and Johnson. The Allyn and Becon Guide to Writing. 5th Ed. customized for Marquette University. Boston: Pearson Education, Inc., 2009: 602.

Marquette University

Raynor Memorial Libraries