In This Guide:

Evidence Based Practice - Health Care: Subject specific sources

A guide to evidence based practice resources.

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry Guidelines
from the Nat'l Guideline Clearinghouse, there are other oral health guidelines that can be found by keyword searching
Evidence Database - ADA
Includes critical summaries and plain language summaries. Browse by topic.
ebe: Evidence-based Endodontics Literature Database
Content includes endodontic texts, program reading lists, and PubMed topical searches. Material is ranked on strength of evidence and categorized.
Evidence Based Dentistry
This journal provides brief summaries of evidence from various sources. **Access is limited to current MU students, faculty and staff.**
Guidelines and Recommendations - Oral Health
From the CDC's Division of Oral Health
Journal of Evidence Based Dental Practice
Includes original articles, as well as reviews of articles on the results and outcomes of clinical procedures and treatment. **Access is limited to current MU students, faculty and staff.**

Obesity+
Combines an e-mail alerting system with a searchable database of citations and abstracts with commentary for articles selected from over 130 clinical journals. Articles are rated for quality, clinical relevance, and interest. Free registration required.
Public Health+
Combines an e-mail alerting system with a searchable database of citations and abstracts with commentary for articles selected from over 120 clinical journals. Articles are rated for quality, clinical relevance, and newsworthiness. Free registration required.

Evidence-Based Nursing
Provides summaries of selected research studies with expert commentary.
Nursing Best Practice Guidelines
Includes clinical practice guidelines and factsheets from the Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario.
Nursing+
Includes a searchable database of references that have been rated for quality, clinical relevance, and interest. Also offers an email alerting system and links to selected resources. Free registration is required.
Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository
Includes nursing-related research materials in both abstract-only and full-text formats. Search options include browsing by evidence level.

OTseeker
Provides citations and abstracts for systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials related to occupational therapy. Many will also be relevant to the practice of physical therapy.

PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database from Univ. of Sydney
Indexes randomized trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines relevant to physical therapy practice.

PTNow
Includes ArticleSearch (formerly Open Door), Clinical Summaries, Tests & Measures, Guidelines and other evidence-based information. Access is restricted to APTA members.
Rehab+
Combines an e-mail alerting system with a searchable database of citations and abstracts with commentary for articles selected from over 120 clinical journals. Articles are rated for quality, clinical relevance, and interest. Free registration required.
University of Ottawa Clinical Practice Rehabilitation Guidelines
Includes evidence-based clinical practice guidelines that have been assessed for quality.

American Psychological Association Statement on EBP in Psychology
Statement approved as policy of the American Psychological Association (APA) by the APA Council of Representatives during its August, 2005 meeting. Statement calls for "the integration of the best available research with clinical expertise in the context of patient characteristics, culture, and preferences."
Disseminating Evidence-Based Practice For Children & Adolescents
This report addresses the unique challenges for practitioners in developing, strengthening, and disseminating evidence-based practice (EBP) for children, adolescents, and their families.
EBBP - Evidence Based Behavioral Practice
The EBBP.org project creates training resources to help bridge the gap between behavioral health research and practice. Professionals from the major health disciplines are collaborating to learn, teach, and implement evidence-based behavioral practice (EBBP).
PsycBITE
A database of studies on cognitive, behavioral and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). Studies covered include Systematic Reviews, Randomized Controlled Trials (RCT), Non-Randomized Controlled Trials (non-RCT), Case Series (CS), and Single Subject Design (SSD).

PsycINFO from EBSCO
Guest Access
Comprehensive index of scholarly journal articles, books and dissertations in psychology and related fields. 1800s-present.

Subject coverage includes basic and applied psychology, abnormal and clinical psychology, experimental psychology, human and animal development, social psychology, professional psychology and educational psychology. Also includes bibliographic citations and abstracts of periodical articles, reports and dissertations, books and chapters. 1987 to present for books and chapters; 1872 to present for journal articles and other material. VPN required if off-campus and also using RefWorks.

speechBITE
The Speech Pathology Database for Best Interventions and Efficacy includes citations and abstracts for Systematic Reviews, Randomized Controlled Trials, Non-Randomized Controlled Trials, Case Series, and Single Case Experimental Design.