Evidence Based Practice - Health Care: Sources for all disciplines

A guide to evidence based practice resources.

Need Help?

Ask us!

Search Help

Pyramid of Evidence-Based Practice Tools

The University of Washington's Pyramid of Evidence-Based Practice Tools presents a framework for searching for evidence:

Begin your search using resources from the top of the pyramid to find high level evidence with the least expenditure of time. Not all subjects will be covered by these resources. Move down the pyramid as needed to find information on your topic.

Systematic Reviews/Meta-Analyses

Cochrane Library from Wiley This link opens in a new window
Works best through Chrome
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Clinical Answers, and other evidence-based resources.
JBI EBP Database from Ovid This link opens in a new window
Formerly called: Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database.
This evidence based practice (EBP) healthcare database includes nursing, medicine, and allied health focused evidence based recommended practices, evidence summaries, best practice information sheets, systematic reviews, consumer information sheets, systematic review protocols, and technical reports.

PubMed Clinical Queries - Systematic Reviews

Evidence Summaries

Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality - Evidence-Based Reports
Effective Health Care Program (AHRQ) - Research Summaries, Reviews and Reports
Research reviews, reports, and short summary guides on the comparative effectiveness of different treatment options.
Guide to Clinical Preventive Services
Guide to Community Preventive Services

Individual Studies

CINAHL from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Indexes journals, dissertations, and other materials in nursing and allied health. Includes full-text for 610+ journals.
Cochrane Library from Wiley This link opens in a new window
Works best through Chrome
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Clinical Answers, and other evidence-based resources.

PubMed Clinical Queries

PsycINFO from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Comprehensive index of scholarly journal articles, books and dissertations in psychology and related fields. 1800s-present.
Subject coverage includes basic and applied psychology, abnormal and clinical psychology, experimental psychology, human and animal development, social psychology, professional psychology and educational psychology. Also includes bibliographic citations and abstracts of periodical articles, reports and dissertations, books and chapters. 1987 to present for books and chapters; 1872 to present for journal articles and other material. VPN required if off-campus and also using RefWorks.
Web of Science from Clarivate Analytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches 12,000+ scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities. Cited Reference Search locates articles that have cited an older document. Limited full-text access.
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); the Science Citation Index and the Social Science Citation Index (1900-present for both); and the Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).

Additional Health Sciences Databases

Clinical Research Critiques

ACP Journal Club
EvidenceUpdates from the BMJ Evidence Centre
Includes a searchable database of citations pre-rated for quality, clinical relevance and interest; and an email alerting system. Requires free registration.
FPIN's Clinical Inquiries