Health Sciences: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Drug Info

A guide to research sources in the health sciences.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
Covers brain and language, phonetics, psycholinguistics, sign language, etc.
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
Covers alternative therapies, diseases and conditions, herbs and other remedies.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Discusses over 1700 medical topics in language accessible to lay-persons.
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health
Covers nursing, physical therapy, and other health professions.
Olympic Textbook of Science in Sport
Includes biochemical, physiological and biomechanical aspects of sport and exercise.

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary by Dorland
Call Number: Raynor Reference - R121 .D73 2012
Publication Date: 2011
Check MARQCAT for print availability.

The 31st edition of this classic reference has more than 124,000 entries and over 1500 images.
Dorland's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations
Merriam Webster's Medical Dictionary
Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine by Wayne B. Jonas
Call Number: Memorial Level 5 - R733 .M678 2005
Publication Date: 2004
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Oxford Reference Online
Nursing, public health, psychology, sports science and medical dictionaries.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary (Thumb-Indexed Version)
Call Number: R121 .T18
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Comprehensive definitions of medical terms. Includes Patient Care sections and dozens of appendices
Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing and health professions
Call Number: Raynor Reference - R121 .M89 2017
View MARQCAT Record

Cleveland Clinic's Disease Management
Clinical resource with evidence-based practice guidelines.
Clinical Exercise Pathophysiology for Physical Therapy
ISBN: 1617116459
Comprehensive reference created to answer the "why" and the "how" to treat patients with exercise.
Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE RC55 .M4
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
The "bible of internal medicine." Multimedia content in online version.
Mosby's Handbook of Herbs and Natural Supplements by Linda Skidmore-Roth
Call Number: Memorial Level 5 - RM666.H33 S58 2006
Publication Date: 2005
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Herbs and supplements from A to Z.
Routledge Handbook of Communication Disorders by Ruth Huntley Bahr and Elaine R. Silliman
Publication Date: 2015
Single user license.
Covers key issues and research in speech, language and hearing sciences.
Brunner and Suddarth's Handbook of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE RT41 .T459 2014
Covers specimen collection and diagnostic tests.
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE RT51 .B78 2014
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Sections include Nursing Process and Practice; Medical-Surgical, Maternity & Neonatal, Pediatric, and Psychiatric Nursing.
NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE RT48.6 .N67 2012
Definitions and classification 2012-2014

2015 Nurse's Drug Handbook
Call Number: eBook
2014 Intravenous Medications
Call Number: eBook
Daily Med
FDA approved labels (package inserts) for prescription drugs.
Drug Information Portal - National Library of Medicine
Information on over 51,000 drugs.
Lexi-Comp Online
Drug monographs and patient education handouts. Appropriate for all health sciences disciplines.
AHFS Drug Information
Call Number: Raynor Reference RS131.2 .A47
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Information on medicines and drug products from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.
PDR
Call Number: Raynor Reference RS75 .P5
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Information on over 4,000 drugs by brand and generic name, manufacturer, and product category. Color photos aid identification of drugs.
PDR for Herbal Medicines
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE RM666.H33 P37
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
PDR for Nonprescription Drugs
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE RM671.A1 P48
Check MARQCAT for print availability.