MARK 4931 - Applied Marketing Consulting: Local market research

Need Help?

Ask us!

Report access issues here →

Directories

Mergent Intellect from Mergent This link opens in a new window
Directory database for private and public U.S and international businesses. Provides facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. Allows creation and downloading of lists.

Nexis Uni - company directory search
- This link opens in a new window
This link goes to the landing page for Nexis Uni business content and search forms.
Scroll down to Company Dossier, and use:
– "Find a Company": for quick lookups
– "Create a Company List": for creating downloadable lists
more...less...
This database is a portal: it has strong coverage in news, business, and the law.

Finding NAICS codes

Lookup sites:

NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)
From the Census Bureau; here you can search by keyword in either the 2012, 2017, or 2022 codes.
NAICS Association
This commercial site also provides a keyword search function.
North American Industry Classification System, United States
In print, we have the manuals for the 1997, 2002, and 2007 codes. The 2007 edition is located in the Raynor Reference Collection (call number: HF 1042 .N67).
For later editions, see the NAICS page on the Census Bureau's website (linked above).

Finding NAICS codes for a specific company:

Of course, often you're trying to identify the code(s) for a specific company. In that case, use a company directory database. Here are two that make it easy to see the codes.

Gale Business Insights from Gale This link opens in a new window
Formerly: Business Insights: Essentials
Searches business journals and magazines, industry reports and encyclopedia articles focusing on company and business information. Indexing 1980-present. Full-text mostly 1990-present.
Formerly: Business Company Resource Center.
Mergent Intellect from Mergent This link opens in a new window
Directory database for private and public U.S and international businesses. Provides facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. Allows creation and downloading of lists.

Nexis Uni - company directory search
- This link opens in a new window
This link goes to the landing page for Nexis Uni business content and search forms.
Scroll down to Company Dossier, and use:
– "Find a Company": for quick lookups
– "Create a Company List": for creating downloadable lists
more...less...
This database is a portal: it has strong coverage in news, business, and the law.

Consumer behavior

County or DMA data:

The Claritas 360 module in SRDS will give you a sense of consumer behavior in the Milwaukee area for both counties and DMAs (Designated Market Areas; a term defined by Nielsen).

Below the link to SRDS Media Planning Solutions, there is a link to an intro video about the Claritas 360 module.

SRDS Media Planning Platform from Kantar Media This link opens in a new window
Database of directory information for print and broadcast media; demographic market segmentation information for metro areas and counties (Claritas 360 module). Short video about the Claritas 360 module.
Formerly Standard Rate & Data Service. We subscribe to these modules:
  –   Consumer Magazine Media
  –   Local Media by DMA
  –   Newspaper Media
  –   Radio Media
  –   TV & Cable Media
  –   Claritas 360 (formerly Claritas Segmentation & Market Solutions; and before that, Local Market Audience Analyst; Lifestyle Market Analyst)

Claritas 360 in SRDS - brief intro video
About 3.5 minutes.

National level data:

For data about consumer behavior with far more flexibility and granularity, but national-level only, try MRI-Simmons Insight. Be aware that using the crosstab software for dataset takes some time to learn and will require more understanding of index and % down values.

Click below on "About consumer survey datasets" for more information (including videos) about using MRI-Simmons.

By the way, MRI-Simmons used to be two separate datasets, MRI and Simmons, but they merged in 2020.

About consumer survey datasets

MRI-Simmons Catalyst from MRI Simmons This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
VPN Required for Off Campus Access.
If link above does not work when on campus and on wifi, use this link instead.
Access limited to 10 users at a time.
Consumer survey data from the spring Simmons National Consumer Studies (2 years delayed).
Modules included are: Crosstab and Brand Catalyst.
Provides demographics, media usage, product usage, brand preferences, and lifestyle psychographics for a sample of ~45,000 US consumers. Covers ~ 8,000 brands.
Formerly MRI-Simmons Insights