Evaluating Websites
Web sites provide a wealth of information, but some are more reliable than others. To determine the validity of a site, ask yourself the following questions:
- Authority
Is the document author or site sponsor clearly identified?
Does the site provide contact information for the author or sponsor? - Objectivity or clear disclosure of advocacy
Is the site's purpose clear (for example, to inform, entertain or persuade)
Is the site explicit about declaring its point of view?
Does the site indicate whether it is directed toward a specific audience? - Coverage
Are the topics covered by the site clear?
Does the site exhibit a suitable depth and comprehensiveness for its purpose?
Is sufficient evidence provided to support the ideas and options presented? - Accuracy
Are the sources of information stated?
Do the facts appear to be accurate?
Can you verify this information by comparing this source with other sources in the field? - Currency
Are the dates included in the website?
Is the information current, or at least still relevant for the site's purpose? For your purpose?
Criteria list taken in whole from: Ramage, Bean and Johnson. The Allyn and Becon Guide to Writing. 5th Ed. customized for Marquette University. Boston: Pearson Education, Inc., 2009: 602.
Additional Health Statistics Sites
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - Data & Surveys
- Association of Religion Data Archives
Includes data on congregational membership at metropolitan, county, state, and national levels. - Children's Defense Fund
Includes The State of America's Children 2004, Children in the States, and other information on child health and welfare. - ChildStats.gov
Provides access to state and national data and reports on children and families. - Department of Health and Human Services - Gateway to Data and Statistics
- Fedstats
Provides access to statistics from over 100 government agencies. - Finding and Using Health Statistics: A Self-Study Course
- Guide to Community Preventive Services
- Health & Medical Statistics on the Internet (University of Maryland Libraries)
- Healthy People 2010 Site
- Internet Crossroads in Social
Science Data
Includes over 650 annotated links to Web sites with demographic, health and other data. - Kids Count
Provides data useful in measuring the educational, social, economic, and physical well-being of children. - Medical College of Wisconsin Firearm Injury Center
- MedlinePlus: Health Statistics
- Milwaukee Continuum of Care - Homelessness in Milwauikee
- Neighborhood Data Center (Non-Profit Center of Milwaukee, Inc.)
- Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce: Health Data Tools and Statistics
- State Health Facts Online
- University of Michigan Documents Center - Statistical Resources on the Web - Health
- University of Wisconsin Population Health
Institute
Publications section includes Wisconsin County Health Rankings. - Wisconsin AIDS/HIV Program - Statistics & Reports
- Wisconsin Department of Health Services - Public Health Programs
Links to data and health program information on topics such as cardiovascular disease, diabetes, and injury prevention.
Google Tips & Tricks
- Use the Advanced feature of Google to be more specific in your search
- Type "intitle:" to search within page titles. Try intitle:health disparities
- Type "inurl:" to search within the web address of a page. Try inurl:raynor
- Type "related:" to find pages with similar content. Try related:www.marquette.edu/library
- Type "search tips site:" to access search tips for a specific site. Try search tips site:nutrition.gov
- Access Google Directory at directory.google.com
- Type "site:" to return results from a specfic domain. Try site:.org library
- Type "intext:" in Google News to pull terms from the body of a story
- Type "define:" to access the built-in dictionary
- No Calculator handy? Type 12*78 and hit search for the answer
- The calculator also converts measurements and currency. Try "30 pounds in kilograms"
- Type "time" and a location to find the time anywhere in the world
- Enter a statistics-based query like "population of Milwaukee" to find the answer above a list of search results
- Use "language tools" to search sites with text in a language other than English.
Need Help?
IM a Librarian
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443
Phone a Librarian
Call the Information Desk at 414.288-7556
Email a Librarian
Email the Infomation Desk at askus@marquette.edu
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait