Why background sources?
Background sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals, etc.) provide summaries, explanations, definitions and factual information. They contain what is generally considered well established knowledge and can provide a basic understanding on which to build.
Drug Information Sources
- Daily Med
Includes FDA approved labels (package inserts) for prescription drugs. - Drug Information Portal - National Library of Medicine
"Quick Access to over 17,000 Selected Drugs" - Lexi-Comp Online
Includes information on over 1600 drugs, drug interactions, drug identification images, and adult and pediatric patient education handouts. While targeted to dentists, the drug monographs are appropriate for all health sciences disciplines.
AHFS Drug Information
Call Number: Raynor Reference RS131.2 .A47
Includes evidence-based information on medicines and drug products from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.
PDR
Call Number: Raynor Reference RS75 .P5
Provides information on over 4,000 drugs by brand and generic name, manufacturer, and product category. Includes color photos to aid identification of drugs.
PDR for Herbal Medicines
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE RM666.H33 P37
PDR for Nonprescription Drugs
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE RM671.A1 P48
Need Help?
IM a Librarian
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443
Phone a Librarian
Call the Information Desk at 414.288-7556
Email a Librarian
Email the Infomation Desk at askus@marquette.edu
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE R726.5 .E53 2004 v.1-2
A-Z coverage of topics related to health and behavior.
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
Covers major topics in all areas of language and linguistics including brain and language, phonetics, psycholinguistics, sign language, etc.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE RC41 .G35 2006
Provides information on more than 1700 medical topics in language accessible to lay-persons.
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE RT21 .G353 2006
Almost 900 entries cover all areas of nursing, physical therapy, and other major health professions.
MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE RC423 .M56 2004
Covers the entire range of communication and speech disorders in children and adults.
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE RC1206 .O355 2005
Includes over 150 in-depth entries on a variety of sports medicine topics.
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE R733 .G34 2005
Provides information on alternative therapies, diseases and conditions, and herbs and other remedies.
Handbooks and Manuals
Cleveland Clinic's Current Clinical Medicine
Includes more than 150 chapters in 13 disease categories.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE RC55 .M4
This "bible of internal medicine" covers diagnosis and treatment of medical and psychological disorders. The online version includes multimedia content and is updated more regularly than the print edition.
Merck Manual of Health & Aging
Provides information on aging, medical conditions, and social, legal and ethical issues.
Mosby's Handbook of Herbs & Natural Supplements
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE RT51 .B78 2006
56 chapters cover disorders seen in medical-surgical nursing. Entries include etiology and pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, diagnosis, treatment, nursing diagnoses, and patient education.
McGraw-Hill Manual of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE RB38.2 .W538 2008
Covers commonly used laboratory and diagnostic tests. Includes normal values, possible reasons for abnormal values, patient education and preparation, testing procedures, and post-test patient care.
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE RT48.6 .A35 2008
Covers nursing diagnosis and the nursing process, nursing diagnoses, and care planning.
Practical Manual of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE RM701 .T36 2006
Covers all aspects of patient care, including physical examination, diagnostic testing, and treatment.
Dictionaries
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary- Merriam Webster's Medical Dictionary (MedlinePlus)
Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary & Alternative Medicine
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions- Oxford Reference Online
Includes dictionaries for nursing, public health, psychology, and sports science and medicine.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing
Call Number: Raynor Reference R121 .S8 2008
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait