Agencies and OrganizationsClinical Laboratory ScienceComplementary and Alternative TherapiesConsumer HealthGovernment SitesHealth PolicyInternational HealthMega SitesMinority HealthNursingPhysical TherapyPhysician Assistant StudiesSpeech Pathology and Audiology
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

Health Sciences  Tags: nursing physical_therapy physician_assistant clinical_laboratory speech_pathology audiology  

A guide to research sources in the health sciences.
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/healthsciences  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Writing & Citation             Print Page
  
 

Why Style Guides?

According to Wikipedia, a Style guide "is a set of standards for design and writing of documents, either for general use or for a specific publication or organization." Style Guides or Manuals can be very specific to the discipline you are writing in or some are used across disciplines. A style guide generally covers everything about writing a document for publication from how to format the title page, to setting margins, to use of tables or figures, to how to cite your references. The American Psychological Association has developed such a guide which is the standard for the field of psychology and is used for nursing and many other disciplines.

Style guide. (2008, March 30). In Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Retrieved 03:01, April 2, 2008, from http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Style_guide&oldid=202074962

Quick Links

Need Help?

 

 

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian

Call the Information Desk at 414.288-7556

Email a Librarian

Email the Infomation Desk at askus@marquette.edu

Research Consultation

 
 

Style Guides

  • Citing Medicine: the NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
    Provides guidance on citing references in a number of formats, including print, online, and audiovisual.
  • APA Style Guide to Electronic References
    Call Number: BF76.7 .P832 2007
    Outlines newly approved style rules for citing electronic sources. These rules are not covered by the Publication Manual. Several copies of this item are available in Memorial for check out. Additional copies are available in the Reference collection, Reserve collection and at the Information Desk. Any MU student, faculty or staff member may download their own copy from our server. Click on the title above.
  • AMA Manual of Style : a Guide for Authors and Editors
    Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE R119 .A533 2007
    This style guide from the editors of JAMA and the Archives journals is available in the Reference Collection for library use only.
  • Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
    Call Number: BF76.7 .P83
    Several copies are available in Memorial library for check out as well as one copy at the Reserve Desk, one copy in the Raynor Reference Collection and one copy at the Raynor Information Desk.
 

Citation Manager Software

Citation or Reference managers are software products which enable you to store and organize your references. In addition to the organizational benefits these products can help create bibliographies formatted in many styles. Some can also create in-text citations or footnotes as you write your paper.

RefWorks

This Web-based citation manager allows you to create a personal database of book and/or article citations by importing references from online databases or text files. You can quickly and easily create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles. You can access your own RefWorks account anywhere on or off campus. Create your account at the Refworks' login screen.

EndNote Web

This Web-based reference management tool allows you to create a personal database of references by importing citations from online databases or text files. You can organize references into folders, and quickly and easily create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles.

Endnote Web is provided free of charge to Marquette students and faculty as part of our subscription to Web of Science. If you don't have a personal Web of Science account, you can sign up for an Endnote Web account at myendnoteweb.com. You must be on campus in order to create an account. Once registered, you can access your Endnote Web account from on or off campus. You will need to login while on campus at least once every twelve months in order to maintain your account.

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait