Theology - Religion & Art: Home

Dr. Dempsey's Intro to THEO 1001 & Dr. Zurcher's English 1302 Courses

Need Help?

Ask us!

Report access issues here →

Databases for both Religion and Art

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials plus from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes 1,400 international journals in the study of religion and provides full text to 100+ journals. Coverage extending back into the 19th century with 1881 as the earliest date of coverage.
Includes Catholic Periodical and Literature Index 1981-present
Topics include: Biblical Studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues
Gale eBooks from Gale This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 400+ resources covering a broad selection of topics.
Covers arts, business, communication, drama, history, medicine, religion, social science and more.
JSTOR from JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Broad collection of full-text scholarly journals (approximately 2700 titles). Discipline coverage uneven and usually does not include the most-recent three years.

Art on the Web - Contemporary Religious Artists
From Boston College
Yale Divinity Image and Text Inventory
EIKON Image Database for Biblical Studies and
AdHoc: Image and Text Database on the History of Christianity

Art Resources

Oxford Art Online from Oxford Press by Oxford
Access limited to 1 user at a time.
Provides access to The Dictionary of Art, with over 45,000 signed articles and images on every aspect of the visual arts. Content updated 3x/year. Includes several other art reference works.
more...less...
Sources: The Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (print edition: 1996, 34 vols.); The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001); The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Smart History
Contains information on Western Art from various time periods. From the Khan Academy.

Art Abstracts from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Indexes art journals, including museum bulletins and published images, from 1984. Abstracts 1994-present.
Indexes Art Index vol. 33-present. See Art Retrospective for vols. 1-32.
Oxford Bibliographies Online - Medieval Studies from Oxford Press This link opens in a new window
Searches bibliographies of resources relating to European and Mediterranean civilization. 300-1500.

Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world.
Art Institute of Chicago
British Mueseum
Louvre Museum
El Prado Museum
Metropolitan Museum of Modern Art
The Rijksmuseum
Smithsonian American Art Museum
Tate Galleries

Top Theology Article Databases

The following are the top journal and magazine article databases for theology and religious studies. Some of the databases include full-text of the articles indexed.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus
PLEASE NOTE: ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus now includes the Catholic Periodical Literature Index (1981 to present)
Catholic Periodical Literature Index
NOTE: CPLI (1981 to present) is now included in the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus. Use ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus to find materials which previously were in CPLI.
more...less...
NOTE: The ATLA Religion Database with ATLAS Plus includes all content that was previously in the CPLI and is being updated with new content.

Religion Database from Proquest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers popular magazine and scholarly journal articles on religion. 1986 to present.

Religious Periodicals in Proquest -- see Proquest Religion

Religious and Theological Abstracts from Religious and Theological Abstracts, Inc. This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles in Christian (mainly Protestant), Jewish, and Muslim journals. 1958-present.

Global Digital Library on Theology and Ecumenism [GlobeTheoLib]
An online library offering access free of charge to full-text articles, journals, books and other resources dealing with theology and ethics. Sign up for a free account to access full-text.

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index -- see ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus
Index to Roman Catholic periodicals, church documents and books pertinent to the study of Catholicism. 1981-present.
New Testament Abstracts from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for works dealing with the New Testament. Coverage begins in 1980, but current content is delayed up to two years. For the most current citations, consult the most recent print issues – Raynor Reference BS410.N35.
The content of over 500 journals is included with all abstracts in English, regardless of the language of the original work. In addition, approximately 800 current books regarding New Testament studies are summarized annually. New Testament Abstracts is a product of a partnership between American Theological Library Association and the Weston Jesuit School of Theology.
Old Testament Abstracts [historical] from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for works dealing with Old Testament/Hebrew Bible. Coverage begins with 1978, but current content is delayed up to 2 years. For the most recent citations, consult Old Testament Abstracts [current] from Project Muse.
The content of over 450 journals is included with all abstracts in English, regardless of language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology. Old Testament Abstracts is a product of a partnership between American Theological Library Association and the Catholic Biblical Association.
Theology in EBSCO from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Searches up to four EBSCO Theology databases at one time.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials, Catholic Periodical and Literature Index, Old Testament Abstracts, and New Testament Abstracts.
JSTOR from JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Broad collection of full-text scholarly journals (approximately 2700 titles). Discipline coverage uneven and usually does not include the most-recent three years.
Index Islamicus from Brill This link opens in a new window
Index of publications on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. A comprehensive, standard source.
Search criteria include: subject, author, title, keyword in title, keyword, year, place of publication, type of literature, and publisher. 1906 to present.

L'Osservatore Romano on CD-ROMs and DVDs
1861-2010; 2012-2014
Check out discs at Raynor Reserves
BX 800 .A1 O87
Click on attached Word document for instructions on how to access content on L'Osservatore CD-ROMs and DVDs.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Access limited to 1 user at a time. Full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on major topics about Islam; English interpretations of the Qur'an; primary source documents, images and maps; and more.
more...less...
Includes material from several reference works including: Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Islamic World: Past and Present, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, The Oxford History of Islam, and What Everyone Needs to Know About Islam.
Index Theologicus (IxTheo) from Ubtübingen
Index to more than 600 journals, 200 Festschrifte, conference papers, and more, on theology and religious studies from the entire world. 1970 - present.
more...less...
The Index Theologicus database is a cumulation of the monthly issues of the theological periodical index, ZeitschriftenInhaltsDienst.