Sociology: SOCI 4997

Need Help?

Article Databases

Below is a list of databases where you can find a variety of sources, but you will need to use the limiters within the databases to narrow your results down to specific source types (academic/scholarly/peer-reviewed journals, books, book chapters, reviews, conference papers, etc). Please consider using the first few databases to begin your search as they are listed by relevance.

Social Sciences in ProQuest from Proquest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, with some full-text of sources in social science. 1986-present.
Sociological Abstracts from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and some full-text for the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers. Includes Social Services Abstracts. Dates of coverage: 1952-present.
Academic Search Complete from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Searches 7000+ journals and magazines across all disciplines, mostly full-text. Emphasis on scholarly journals. 1985 - present.
JSTOR from JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Broad collection of full-text scholarly journals (approximately 2700 titles). Discipline coverage uneven and usually does not include the most-recent three years.
ProQuest Central from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of journals, magazines, newspapers and dissertations. Full-text for many sources, mostly beginning in the 1970s or 1980s.
Social Sciences Citation Index from Clarivate This link opens in a new window
Index of sources in the social sciences. Search by keyword or by Cited Reference Search (allows locating articles that have been cited in older documents). Limited full-text available. 1900 - present.
Included in Web of Science.
Web of Science from Clarivate Analytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches 12,000+ scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities. Cited Reference Search locates articles that have cited an older document. Limited full-text access.
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); the Science Citation Index and the Social Science Citation Index (1900-present for both); and the Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Each year, Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research. Subjects: biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences, including economics. Note: we do not subscribe to all journals published.
A collection of ~50 journals that publish scholarly literature review articles only.
SAGE Journals Online from Sage This link opens in a new window
Searches full text articles of SAGE journals (approximately 900 titles). Emphasis on the health and social sciences. 1982 - present.
ScienceDirect from Elsevier This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content in Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. Marquette subscribes to 160+ Elsevier journals, but not all.

Databases for Polls

Journals

Searching within a specific journal could be quite helpful. Scholarly publications/journals are subject specific and are designed to communicate to professionals within a certain field. Often, searching within a specific journal where a useful article appeared could yield similar research.

Annual Review of Sociology
American Sociological Review
Official journal of the American Sociological Society
American Journal of Sociology
Social Forces
An International journal of social research
Social Problems
Society for the Study of Social Problems
Sociological Quarterly
Official journal of the Midwest Sociological Society
Gender & Society
Official publication of Sociologists for Women in Society
Law & Society Review
Body & Society
Sociological Methods & Research
Sociological Methodology
An Official publication of the American Sociological Association
Information, Communication & Society
Sociological Theory
An official publication of the American Sociological Association
Sociology of Education
Socio-economic Review
Published by Oxford University Press for the Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics
Social Networks
An international journal of structural analysis
Journal of Marriage and Family
From the National Council on Family Relations

E-Book Collections

ebook Collection (EBSCOhost) from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 120,000 full-text e-books representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Combines the former NetLibrary collection with EBSCO's academic ebook collection.
ProQuest Ebook Central from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Over 27,000 full-text titles available in 15 broad subject categories.

Finding your librarian

Your librarian can provide in person or remote reference services.

You can contact your librarian via email (leatha.miles-edmonson@marquette.edu), telephone (414-288-7875) or by filling out the consultation/appointment request form.