OSCM 3001: Home

Need Help?

Librarian

Subjects: Accounting, Advertising, Business, Career Research, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing, Public Relations, Social Innovation/Entrepreneurship, Strategic Communication

About this guide

This guide was written for Professor Jeff Brand's OSCM 3001 courses in spring 2024.

Off campus access methods (authentication)

Library Off-Campus Access webpage
Information (comprehensive) about all 3 authentication methods; has screenshots.
  –  Authentication is required for off-campus use of library databases by the database vendors.
  –  A few databases only work with the VPN.
  –  Includes FAQs about OpenAthens.

Brief description of 3 authentication methods:

New Library Login (OpenAthens): Many library resources use this method for logging in; requires no setup. When prompted, select "Marquette University Libraries (AZURE)" and then sign in using your Marquette email/password.
Library Login (legacy version): This method is quick and requires no setup. Just login before clicking on library database links or when prompted to do so. A few library databases will not work with it.
VPN (virtual private network): The VPN requires you to download an app onto both your cell phone and your computer. A few library databases require it for off-campus access. Outline of the steps required for the VPN:
- Register for Duo Mobile if you haven't already (see "detailed VPN instructions" linked just below).
- Download Duo Mobile app onto your cell phone. Allow push notifications for it.
- Download GlobalProtect app onto your computer. Complete GlobalProtect setup on your computer.
- Find detailed VPN instructions from ITS here.

Finding company information

Google, obviously! And the company's own website.

But I hope that the resources below will provide different kinds of information, and access to information that may be paywalled if you only use Google.

Company profiles:

Here I mean profiles from independent entities, not from the company itself.

Important note:

The resources below will work primarily for public companies only!

MarketLine Company Profiles (via Business Source Premier)
MarketLine publishes company profiles and some industry profiles for the United States, global markets, and products in developed countries. These reports outline the company products, financial condition, strategies, and provide a brief SWOT analysis describing strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats.
Hoover's Company Records (Mergent and D&B, via ProQuest)
October 2020 - present. Profiles include brief overviews of management, financials, industry, and competition.

MSCI ESG Direct This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides: company profiles, including analysis of companies' social responsibility; controversial issue involvement reports.
Controversial Issues: abortion, adult entertainment, alcohol, cluster bombs, contraceptives, firearms, gambling, global weapons, landmines, nuclear power, tobacco.
Value Line from Value Line This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
VPN Required for Off Campus Access.
If above link does not work when on campus on wireless, use this link
Investment information on 1,700 large-cap stocks and 1,800 small-or medium-cap companies. 1997-present.
How-to videos accessible here.
For each company this includes: year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance; projections of key financial measures; and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects. It also provides short-term industry reviews, and a stock screening feature.

Mergent Online:

Company financial information and more. An academic competitor to FactSet, LSEG Workspace (formerly Refinitiv), Bloomberg ...

Mergent Online from Mergent This link opens in a new window
Provides information and data on U.S. and international companies, including annual reports and SEC filings, institutional holdings, FactSheets, Supply Chain reports, etc.
Supply Chain reports cover US public companies primarily in the tech, biotech, and financial sectors. They include information on competitors (by product), customers, market structure, and more. The information is drawn from SEC filings, trade articles, and more. Formerly called Horizon Reports.

About Mergent Online:

Search for your company, then look in the green tabs for the following items.

Annual Reports:

There are actually two types of annual reports: the ARS (Annual Report to Shareholders) and the 10-K. (Yes, they are often also available on the company's investor webpages, too.)

The ARS and 10-K are now sometimes lumped together, but originally the ARS was written for current and potential shareholders/investors, while the 10-K was written for the SEC.

Sections to look for ...

ARS: CEO Letter to Shareholders
10-K: Part 1, item 1 - Description. This is the company's own description of their business.
10-K: Part 1, item 1A - Risk factors that must be disclosed and discussed.
10-K: Part 1, item 2 - Properties
10-K: Part 2, item 7 - Management's Discussion and Analysis (MD&A). This is the company executive team's discussion of what they perceive as currently important issues for the company.

Supply Chain module:

It has the following very useful features/sections:

Lists of suppliers, customers, partners, competitors
Lists of brands, tradenames and sometimes, products

Company history:

International Directory of Company Histories (in Gale eBooks)
Enter your company's name in the 'Search Within Series' box (upper-right).
Notable Corporate Chronologies Online (in Gale Business Insights)
Enter your company's name in the 'Search Within Publication' box (upper right).

Marquette University

Raynor Library