Math and Statistics: Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Need Help?

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Mathematics
European Mathematical Society. Original articles are from the online Encyclopaedia of Mathematics, published by Kluwer Academic Publishers in 2002. 8,000+ entries, illuminating nearly 50,000 notions in mathematics, the Encyclopaedia of Mathematics was the most up-to-date graduate-level reference work in the field of mathematics.

MathWorld by Eric W. Weisstein and world's mathematical community
The virtual version of CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics. Includes standard mathematical definitions and descriptions and is updated daily with new, scholarly discoveries.
CRC concise encyclopedia of mathematics
Call Number: Raynor Reference QA5 .W45 2003
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Comprehensive presentation of usable information for mathematics, physics, biochemistry, chemistry, biophysics, and engineering. Each article in the book presents a definition, formula, illustration, and bibliographic information.
The Universal Book of Mathematics: From Abracadabra to Zeno's Paradoxes
Call Number: QA5 .D27 2004
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Includes entries for mathematical terms, concepts, and problems; short biographies of pioneering mathematicians; puzzles; diagrams; pictures; and history.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics by 4th ed
Call Number: QA276.15 .E84 2010
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Covers medical, survey, theoretical, and applied statistics, statistical software and provides short biographies. Includes graphics.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics by Christopher Clapham
Call Number: QA5 .C53 1996
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
A Dictionary of Statistics by Graham Upton; Ian Cook
Call Number: QA276.14 .U67 2006
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Dictionary of Classical and Theoretical Mathematics
Call Number: QA5 .D4984 2001
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Includes related references and a list of alternative terms and definitions.

NIST Handbook of Mathematical Functions
Call Number: QA331 .N57 2010
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Oxford User's Guide to Mathematics
Call Number: QA40 .T4813 2004
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Covers a broad spectrum of mathematics and includes numerous tables on infinite series, special functions, integrals, integral transformations, mathematical statistics, and fundamental constants. Emphasizes the relations between the different branches of mathematics and the applications of mathematics in engineering and the natural sciences. A comprehensive table at the end of the handbook embeds the history of mathematics into the history of human culture.