MARK 4040: Home

Need Help?

Librarian

Subjects: Accounting, Advertising, Business, Career Research, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing, Public Relations, Social Innovation/Entrepreneurship, Strategic Communication

This guide was written for Professor Barrett's MARK 4040 course.

Library Off-Campus Access webpage
Information (comprehensive) about all 3 authentication methods; has screenshots.
  –  Authentication is required for off-campus use of library databases by the database vendors.
  –  A few databases only work with the VPN.
  –  Includes FAQs about OpenAthens.

New Library Login (OpenAthens): Many library resources use this method for logging in; requires no setup. When prompted, select "Marquette University Libraries (AZURE)" and then sign in using your Marquette email/password.
Library Login (legacy version): This method is quick and requires no setup. Just login before clicking on library database links or when prompted to do so. A few library databases will not work with it.
VPN (virtual private network): The VPN requires you to download an app on both your mobile device and your computer. A few library databases require it for off-campus access. Outline of the steps required for the VPN:
1. Follow these setup instructions for the free Microsoft Authenticator app.
2. Download the free FortiClient VPN on your computer using instructions for Windows setup or macOS setup.

If nothing else, use Passport!

Passport
On first use only, acknowledgement of privacy and security policy required.
Data, reports and analysis about countries, industries, companies and consumers. Includes: economic and social data for ~200 countries; market research reports for ~80 countries; company and consumer profiles. We do NOT subscribe to the Sustainability module.
Video demo on how to search in Passport.
Economic and social indicator data redistributed from IMF, UN, World Bank, OECD. Annual data only.
Business Source Premier from EBSCO
Although many of the reports I recommend are in Business Source Premier, it's easier by far to use the individual links on the Country Information and Industry Information pages!
In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 1,570 journals. This database contains popular business publications such as Business Week, Forbes, and Harvard Business Review, and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. Also included is Wall Street Words, a dictionary of financial terms, linked directly to words within the citations and full text. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.

Two other library guides that have more information ...

Industry Information
by Xiaohan Yan Last Updated Apr 3, 2025 607 views this year
International Business
by Xiaohan Yan Last Updated Apr 4, 2025 277 views this year