Online Resources - PHIL 1000 - Logic - Research Guides at Marquette University

Topic Databases

Access World News - USA from Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Current and archived news content for the United States. Access local, in-state, and national news sources, including newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires, news blogs, web-only and video content.
CQ Researcher from CQ Press This link opens in a new window
Original full-text articles on controversial issues and current events. Each includes overview, background and bibliography. Excellent starting point. 1960-present
Issues and Controversies@Facts.com from Facts On File This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains in-depth articles about contemporary controversial issues. Designed for initial research or debate prep. 1995 - present.
This resource (in addition to CQ Researcher) is an EXCELLENT starting point for research on contemporary topics. September 25, 1995 to present.

General/Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Searches 7000+ journals and magazines across all disciplines, mostly full-text. Emphasis on scholarly journals. 1985 - present.
MARQCATplus from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Marqcatplus searches across the library’s catalog and multiple databases. Content includes journals, magazines, books, videos and other content sources.

Philosophy Databases

Philosopher's Index from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of a broad spectrum of philosophical sources, including more than 1,600 journals; books and anthologies; and more. Mostly 1940 - present.
Provides global coverage, with source publications from more than 135 countries, and in more than 35 languages.
PhilPapers from The PhilPapers Foundation This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers is an index of philosophy books and articles featuring real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.

Additional Resources

Environment Complete from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Full-text for 750+ journals on environmentally-related topics.
ETHXWeb from Georgetown Univ. This link opens in a new window
Index of literature related to bioethics and professional ethics.
GenETHX from Georgetown Univ. This link opens in a new window
Index to articles, books, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and news relating to genetics. 1976-present.
GreenFILE from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly, general interest, and government sources regarding human effects on the environment.
Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
Health Sciences & Nursing in ProQuest from Proquest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes citations and abstracts of scholarly journals, magazines and trade publications in nursing, psychology, and allied health.
Full-text is available for many of the journals and also for more than 11,000 dissertations. Also includes evidence-based resources from the Joanna Briggs Institute: Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) from ICPSR This link opens in a new window
NOTE: you must create a "MyData" account in order to retrieve data.
Abstracts, longitudinal studies, project overviews, data collection instruments, and descriptions of variables found in the dataset. Most datasets and documentation can be downloaded, from on campus computers, for research and personal use.
For help and documentation, see:
Help and User Guide
ICPSR Youtube channel.
ICPSR holds a wealth of data from a number of sources. Among them:
Collaborative Psychiatric Epidemiology Surveys
Data Sharing for Demographic Research
Health and Medical Care Archive
National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging
NCAA Division I Academic Progress Rate, 2003-2014
Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods
National Survey of Substance Abuse Treatment Services (N-SSATS) Series
Terrorism and Preparedness Data Resource Center.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Indexes literature in sports medicine, exercise physiology, training and conditioning, etc. Many journals include full-text.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) This link opens in a new window
Dataset related to substance abuse and mental health.
Most datasets and documentation can be downloaded, from on campus computers, for research and personal use. When retrieving data users will be asked to create a "MyData Account" and provide information to verify their Marquette status.