Environmental Studies: Articles and Databases

INES Research Guide

Need Help?

Helpful Databases for Environmental Studies

Databases provide a systematic method of searching for articles, and other documents, on your topic. Some databases include full text of the documents and some only provide a short overview (abstract) of the main parts of the paper.

ECOLEX from Ecolex This link opens in a new window
Database of environmental law.
Combines the legal library of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO), the World Conservation Union (IUCN), and the UN Environment Programme (UNEP).
Environmental Studies in Video from Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies in Video is an online collection designed to address the needs of one of the fastest growing academic fields. The collection directly confronts the most compelling questions faced in contemporary society by bringing together seminal documentary films and powerful footage from diverse sources around the globe.
Environment Complete from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Full-text for 750+ journals on environmentally-related topics.
GreenFILE from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly, general interest, and government sources regarding human effects on the environment.
Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
Web of Science from Clarivate Analytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches 12,000+ scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities. Cited Reference Search locates articles that have cited an older document. Limited full-text access.
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); the Science Citation Index and the Social Science Citation Index (1900-present for both); and the Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).

Environment & Society Portal
The Environment & Society Portal is a gateway to open access resources on the human-environment relationship
National Centers for Environmental Information
NCEI environmental data spans a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines, archive methods, naming conventions, file formats, and governance strategies. NCEI develops software, APIs, visualization methods, and other services to enhance data access, discovery, and interoperability.

MARQCAT Search

Databases A-Z | Research Guides

Advanced Search

Megasites

Science.gov
Includes over 1,700 web sites and 30 databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials. Provides a unified search of the government’s scientific and technical information. Science.gov mainly provides citations and in some cases abstracts.
World Wide Science - "The Global Science Gateway"
Searches over 60 databases and portals from more than 60 countries and returns results in relevance-ranked order. Much of the information is freely available.