Dental Rounds for D1s and D2s: D1s - Anatomy & physiology resources

Look here for handbooks and textbooks to help with your part of the Rounds presentation

Need Help?

Ask us!

Report access issues here →

Anatomy e-resource

Anatomy.tv from Primal Pictures This link opens in a new window
Provides images and video of human anatomy models and scans.
Accessibility notice: the content of this database is visually-based and requires navigation with a mouse: it is not fully accessible to students with visual impairment and/or who require assistive technology. If students are required to use this database in a course, the faculty member is required to insert a statement in the syllabus indicating that students with disabilities will need assistance to fully utilize the database.
Includes Regional, Systemic, and Sports & Therapy modules. Specialty titles include Dentistry, Head & Neck: Basic Neuroanatomy, and Speech Language Pathology. Features interactive 3D human anatomy models (The 3D Real-time Body), MRI scans, quizzes, movies, interactive animations and more. Content may be exported for use in lectures, student presentations or patient handouts.

Atlases

Ten Cate's Oral Histology, 9th ed
Call Number: RK280 .T46 2018
ISBN: 0323485243
View MARQCAT Record to check availability
Wheeler's Dental Anatomy, Physiology and Occlusion, 10th ed.
Call Number: RK280 .W48 2015
Provides illustrated coverage of dentitions, pulp formation, the sequence of eruptions, and clinical considerations. Over 900 full-color images and clinical photographs. View MARQCAT Record
Netter's Head and Neck Anatomy for Dentistry, 2nd ed.
Call Number: RK280 .N67 2012
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Uses more than 600 full-color images from the Netter Collection to richly depict all of the key anatomy that's relevant to clinical practice.
McMinn's Color Atlas of Head and Neck Anatomy by 4th ed.
Call Number: QM535 .M25 2010
Includes dissections (with notes and commentaries), osteology, radiographic and surface anatomy images, plus an appendix with dental anesthesia information. View MARQCAT Record
Head and Neck Anatomy for Dental Medicine
Call Number: QM535 .H43 2010
View MARQCAT Record to check availability
Illustrated Anatomy of the Head and Neck by 4th ed
Call Number: QM535 .F44 2012 (Lemonis level 5)
View MARQCAT Record to check availability

Physiology

Here are some recently published physiology texts. Many are available for check-out; click on the MARQCAT record link to if a book is available. You can go to the 5th floor of Lemonis Student Success Center and look at the call # QP34.5 for more.

Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 12th ed.
Call Number: QP34.5 .G9 2016
ISBN: 9781455770052
Human Physiology
Call Number: QP34.5 .S48 2013 (Lemonis level 5)
ISBN: 9781111577438
View MARQCAT record to see the table of contents and check availability
Anatomy and Physiology for Health Professionals
Call Number: QP34.5 .M65 2012 (Lemonis level 5)
View MARQCAT record to see the table of contents and check availability.

Handbooks & Encyclopedias

Basic Guide to Dental Procedures, 2nd ed.
Publication Date: 2015
Single user license.
Provides an introduction to the core preventative and routine restorative treatments.
Dentist's Guide to Medical Conditions, Medications and Complications, 2nd ed.
Outlines protocols for treating patients with common conditions, presents essential drug interaction information, and guides the dental professional through prevention and management of in-office medical emergencies.
The Encyclopedia of Dental and Oral Health
Call Number: RK27 .R56 2011
Covers topics such as proper dental care, dental practices and procedures, infectious diseases and related diseases, anatomy of the teeth and mouth, and the causes of tooth decay. View MARQCAT Record
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Dentistry by 5th ed.
Call Number: RK56 .M57 2009
Geared for ultra-quick reference, it uses concise, bulleted text, quick reference tabs and four color presentation. View MARQCAT Record
Handbook of Pediatric Dentistry by 5th ed.
Call Number: RK55.C5 H36 2022
Highly illustrated guide to the day-to-day management of child dental patients; View MARQCAT Record