Citation Styles -- APA, MLA, etc.: Chicago/Turabian

Sample citations, style guides & other writing resources

Need Help?

People who used this guide also used:

The Chicago Manual of Style
Use the Citation Quick Start for links to examples of both (1) notes and bibliography and (2) author-date formats
Print copies also available in the Memorial and Reference collections (Z253 .U69 2017) as well as at the Information Desk.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
Written by Kate Turabian and sometimes referred to as the Turabian Manual.
Get call number

Chicago Style "Anatomy of Citations" Interactive Tutorial
Practice and test your knowledge of citation parts and formatting for bibliography and foot notes.
Chicago- Style Citation Quick Guide
Sample citations for a variety of different types of sources. Use tabs to view 'Notes and Bibliography' or 'Author-Date' formats.
Excelsior OWL - Chicago Style
Open the + menus in the left-margin to see specific examples (Notes & Bibliography)

Both style guides are published by the University of Chicago Press.
Most often used by history researchers.
Turabian style is named after its author, Kate Turabian.
Turabian style is very similar to the Chicago style with a few differences. Quick Guide to Turabian

These basic tools can help begin the formatting process but often require additional input and editing by the user.

NoodleTools Express
A free bibliography generator that formats citations in MLA, APA and Chicago.
Citation Machine
Choose style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.), choose document type (book, article, etc.), search for citation information or enter already known information.

RefWorks
Free online resource (for Marquette users) for compiling bibliographies and citations. Requires a RefWorks account created on a campus computer. See our RefWorks Guide .
EndNote Web
Free online resource (for Marquette users) for compiling bibliographies and citations. Requires an Endnote Web account created on a campus computer. See our EndNote Guide
Zotero Firefox Extension
Free Firefox extension to help collect, manage, and cite your sources. Covers AMA, APA, APS, ASA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, NLM, and more. See our Zotero Guide