FREN 4340 - French Feminism: Research sources

Need Help?

Mots de vocabulaire

Pour la bibliothèque et l'informatique

French vocabulary for computers and the library
Printable version

abstract	résumé n.m.
browse	feuilleter
browser (web)	navigateur, navigateur web, n.m.
call number	cote, n.f.
computer	ordinateur, n.m.
cursor	curseur, n.m.; pointeur, n.m.
database	base (n.f.) de données; banque (n.f.) de données
digital, digitized	numérisé
download, upload	télécharger
email	courrier électronique, courriel n.m.
full text	texte intégral, n.m.
interface	plage, n.f.
journal, magazine	revue, n.f.; périodique, n.m.
keyboard	clavier, n.m.
meta search engine	multimoteur, n.f.
mouse	souris, n.f.
online	en ligne
record, file	enregistrement, fichier, n.m.
screen, monitor	écran, n.m.
search engine	moteur (n.m.) de recherche
software, program	logiciel, n.m.
stacks	rayons, étagères
to type, or to keyboard	taper
upload, download	télécharger
web browser	navigateur, navigateur web, n.m.
webpage	page web, n.f.
website	site web, n.m.

Article databases

JSTOR from JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Broad collection of full-text scholarly journals (approximately 2700 titles). Discipline coverage uneven and usually does not include the most-recent three years.
Francis Database from Inist-CNRS This link opens in a new window
Archive of the multidisciplinary FRANCIS and PASCAL bibliographic databases from 1972 through 2015. PASCAL covers the sciences and FRANCIS covers mostly humanities and social sciences.
Literature Online from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LION contains the full text of English and American poetry, drama, and prose from the Anglo-Saxon period through the twentieth century. Includes literary criticism, biography and reference sources.
Literary criticism includes ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, of scholarly books, articles, & reviews and the full text from 160 journals. Literary texts range from the seventh to the twentieth century. Journal full text covers from 1988 to the present.
Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics from Cambridge Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Searches in-depth introductory essays on significant subjects in literature and the classics, covering major authors, periods, and genres.
From the Cambridge Companion series.
Historical Abstracts from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
The standard indexing service for academic historical writings on all areas of the world, except the United States and Canada. Covers items published from 1972 to present.
MLA International Bibliography from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarship on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics. 4,000+ journals and 1,000+ book publishers covered. Some full-text. 1925-present.

Primary source databases

Gerritsen Collection from ProQuest
Books, pamphlets and periodicals documenting the evolution of feminism and the women's rights movement throughout the world.

Defining Gender, 1450-1910 from Adam Matthew Pubs This link opens in a new window
Database of primary sources, mostly from Great Britain. Primarily "advice literature," also includes essays by contemporary scholars. 1450-1910.
Defining Gender includes indexing that directs researchers to larger holdings of similar literature available on microform.
Gale Primary Sources from Gale This link opens in a new window
Searches several primary source databases simultaneously: allows full-text searching of scanned historical newspapers, books, maps, ephemera, and more. Comprised primarily of publications of the 'western' world. 1500-1926.
Searches: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection; Eighteenth Century Collections Online; Making of the Modern World; Nineteenth Century Collections Online; and Sabin Americana; Times Digital Archive, 1785-2009; and the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2010.