ECON 3001 - Kohls: Finding articles

Need Help?

Scholarly article databases

The following databases provide the strongest coverage of scholarly journals in the fields of advertising and public relations. However, they include more than just scholarly articles: you'll also find articles from some trade, news, and popular magazines.

Use these databases especially when you're researching issues or theories.

Scholarly articles usually ...

provide analysis of a topic / issue, exploring it in greater depth
are considered the most authoritative
can be very narrow in scope, technical or theoretical

Top database for the field:

EconLit from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches citations and some full-text of economic research publications: includes journal articles; books, book chapters and book reviews; working papers; dissertations. 1969 - present.
An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL), produced by the American Economic Association. Covers both economic theory and application.

Additional databases:

ABI/Inform Global from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches in business publications; includes market, industry and country reports. Good coverage of the scholarly business literature. Mostly 1971 - present.
Approximately 3,000 titles.
Business Source Premier from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches business publications; includes company, country, and industry reports. Good coverage of scholarly business publications. Mostly 1984 - present.
In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 1,570 journals. This database contains popular business publications such as Business Week, Forbes, and Harvard Business Review, and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. Also included is Wall Street Words, a dictionary of financial terms, linked directly to words within the citations and full text. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.
OECD iLibrary from OECD This link opens in a new window
Portal for publications and data of the OECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development).
Subscription ceased after 2020. Content through 2020 is accessible, but more recent content is not.
Includes time series data, annual reports, journals, working paper series, and more.
Web of Science from Clarivate Analytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches 12,000+ scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities. Cited Reference Search locates articles that have cited an older document. Limited full-text access.
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), and the Science Citation Index and the Social Science Citation Index (1980-present for both).

Working papers' databases

In addition to articles that get published in traditional journals, economists write 'working papers'. These are documents created for the purpose of furthering discussion on the topic, rather than as authoritative texts. Often they will end up later as formally published articles, incorporating revisions or corrections that ensue from reactions to the working paper version.

Use these databases when you want the latest scholarly thought or developments on an issue or country.

Working papers usually ...

are written by scholars
provide insight into economic thought about developing situations or problems

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) - Working Papers from NBER This link opens in a new window
Working papers of researchers at the NBER.
The topical areas that NBER focuses on are: Aging, Asset Pricing, Children, Corporate Finance, Development of the American Economy, Economics of Education, Economic Fluctuations and Growth, Environmental and Energy Economics, Health Care, Health, Industrial Organization, International Finance and Macroeconomics, International Trade and Investment, Labor Studies, Law and Economics, Monetary Economics, Political Economy, Productivity, Stocks, Bonds, and Foreign Currency/Asset Pricing, and Taxation/Public Economics/Government Spending.
OECD iLibrary from OECD This link opens in a new window
Portal for publications and data of the OECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development).
Subscription ceased after 2020. Content through 2020 is accessible, but more recent content is not.
Includes time series data, annual reports, journals, working paper series, and more.

RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
... a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 68 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in economics. The heart of the project is a decentralized database of working papers, journal articles and software components.
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis working papers