SCMM 6931 - Blockchain: Home

Topics in Supply Chain Management

Need Help?

Ask us!

Report access issues here →

Subject Librarian

Valerie Beech

Email Me

Contact:

414.288.1998

Subjects: Accounting, Advertising, Business, Career Research, Citation Searching, Communication, Economics, Finance, French, German, Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Linguistics, Management, Marketing, Public Relations, Social Innovation/Entrepreneurship, Spanish, Strategic Communication

About this guide

This guide was written for Professor John Golden's SCMM 6931 course, Topics in Supply Chain Management, focusing on Blockchain.

Off campus access methods (authentication)

Library Off-Campus Access webpage
Information (comprehensive) about all 3 authentication methods; has screenshots.
  –  Authentication is required for off-campus use of library databases by the database vendors.
  –  A few databases only work with the VPN.
  –  Includes FAQs about OpenAthens.

Brief description of 3 authentication methods:

New Library Login (OpenAthens): Many library resources use this method for logging in; requires no setup. When prompted, select "Marquette University Libraries (AZURE)" and then sign in using your Marquette email/password.
Library Login (legacy version): This method is quick and requires no setup. Just login before clicking on library database links or when prompted to do so. A few library databases will not work with it.
VPN (virtual private network): The VPN requires you to download an app onto both your cell phone and your computer. A few library databases require it for off-campus access. Outline of the steps required for the VPN:
- Register for Duo Mobile if you haven't already (see "detailed VPN instructions" linked just below).
- Download Duo Mobile app onto your cell phone. Allow push notifications for it.
- Download GlobalProtect app onto your computer. Complete GlobalProtect setup on your computer.
- Find detailed VPN instructions from ITS here.

Starting points

Here are some introductory resources on blockchain, recommended by your professor.

Blockchain for Dummies, by Manav Gupta
2nd edition, from IBM.
How the Blockchain is Changing Money and Business
A TED Talk by Don Tapscott, June 2016.
MIT Technology Review, May/June 2018 issue
This entire issue is devoted to blockchain.
Search in the entire journal for even more articles about blockchain.

More technical ...

Below are two databases that can be useful, but will require more effort and perhaps time on your part.

IDC: here are the original research reports from this publisher. They have focus on technology, but especially as applied to, and relevant to, business. Use the Advanced Search for greater functionality; a link to it will appear when you click in the basic keyword search box.
O'Reilly ebooks, videos and tutorials: from the publisher O'Reilly, although there are books from other publishers also. More content that focuses on technology, but includes a lot where the business applications are highlighted. Sample titles:
–   Blockchain for Business 2018: The New Industrial Revolution (ebook)
–   Blockchain Explanation, Usage, and Impact (a video)
–   Learning Path: Introduction to Blockchain Applications (a course)

IDC This link opens in a new window
Chrome users - may see issues if already logged into Office 365/eMarq in Chrome.
Log out of Office 365 first or use a different browser.
IDC publishes market research reports and data for these tech sectors: big data/analytics, cloud computing, consumer tech, infrastructure software, Internet of Things (IoT), mobility, networking, security, semiconductors, social business, storage, telecommunications and more. Coverage is global; reports are accessible usually for 18-24 months only. Datasets and Pivot Tables are not included in subscription. Video demo available.
First time users must complete a User Details registration form; your own name will then appear in the upper right corner. The Logout link can be found in the menu under your name.
Getting to the Advanced search: click into the search box in the upper right corner. It will expand, and the link to the Advanced Search is below the textbox.
Vertical sectors covered include: energy, finance, government, health, manufacturing (including supply chain), and retail. (IDC = International Data Corporation.)
O'Reilly from Proquest This link opens in a new window
Click on "Institution Not Listed"; ignore the drop down menu. Use your Marquette email address for access. Personal accounts can be created for additional functionality.
Ebook library of current technology, digital media, and business books and videos online. Topics include: IT management, e-commerce/business, programming languages, graphics, hardware, multimedia, security and many others.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Marquette students, faculty and staff have access to Gartner, a leading source for analysis of information technology trends, suppliers, products and technologies.
Login with your Marquette email and password.