MANA 3002 - Business & its Environment: Topic starting points

Dr. Rehbein's section
Need Help?
Ask Us!

Report access
issues here
.

What's on this page

This page has resources to get you started on the specific topics you've chosen.  Use the links in the table of contents area (left margin) to go to specific topics.

Notes:
  1. Sustainability and the environment, and healthier living are both very broad topics.  Below are ideas on how you could focus ...
  2. Search in ABI/Inform Collection (from ProQuest) for coverage of trade publications which cover current business news, and for coverage of scholarly business journals. Trade publications will be most useful for topics/questions that have a clear business angle (e.g. fast fashion).   
  3. Search in Education Resource Complete (from EBSCO) for the best coverage of things related to education. 
  4. Search in Environment Complete (from EBSCO) for the best coverage of the environmental sciences scholarly literature.  
  5. Search in Web of Science (from Clarivate Analytics) for multi-disciplinary coverage of top-tier scholarly journals. Be aware that it has very little full-text, so using the Find It @ MU links is truly required.
    Here's a short video showing how Find It @ MU works.

Composting & food waste

In Milwaukee:

And beyond:

Plastic

Issues:
In Milwaukee (and Wisconsin):

Below are links to several articles from the local NPR affiliate, WUWM, by their environmental reporter Susan Bence. They have good local news coverage.

Initiatives that work with companies:

Sustainability at Marquette

Below are links to relevant Marquette webpages ...

Student efforts and initiatives:

Meat industry, meat consumption

Environmental concerns:
Health and nutrition:
Labor issues:

All about the working conditions for workers in this industry.

Driving costs

Government resources:
Encyclopedias and background reports:
  • Search in CQ Researcher for very useful background reports. 
  • Search in Gale e-Books to find encyclopedia articles. 
  • Below I've also linked directly to the Encyclopedia of Transportation (via Gale e-Books) and several relevant articles within it.
Scholarly articles:

Search in Web of Science especially for its interdisciplinary coverage, but also in both ABI/Inform Collection and Environment Complete, depending on your interest. 

But I strongly recommend that you first narrow down your focus:  there is a lot of research 'out there' on the adverse effects of cars, aka automobiles!  Examples:  health effects, air and other pollution, infrastructure required (roads and bridges?!), costs. 

Below is an example ...

Fast fashion

This topic or question will require you to get into trade journals as well as scholarly journals. Why?  

  • The trades are where you can find the latest news and developments.  Search in ABI/Inform Collection, linked to above.
  • Scholarly journals are where you'll find more assessment and analysis.  Search in Web of Science, Environment Complete and ABI/Inform Collection (using the results filter for scholarly articles).
Specific publications to look for and search in:
Reports, statistics and more:
2 Industry profiles:

These two reports will tell you all about the money-making potential for fast fashion ...

Electricity usage

Lots of possibilities for article searching, including Environment Complete and Web of Science linked above.  Below are a variety of links for statistics, background and more.

Paper use reduction

Why reduce paper use?

First, some of the reasons why one should try to reduce paper usage!

Strategies:

I'm quite certain that you will be just as good at Google searching for this as I am, if not better! 

But here are a couple of examples I found that look good.  Yes, they are focused more on the office setting, but many of these strategies are equally relevant to individuals.

Eating locally

This challenge or topic may be harder to find background information on, simply because it touches on so many separate issues.  Among them: 

  • sustainable agriculture (includes water use, land degradation and erosion, non-point pollution)
  • labor practices, for both farm workers and retail workers
  • transportation and logistics, and more. 
Example of "eat local" challenge:

You'll find more I'm sure, but this one has received a lot of attention.

Examples of Milwaukee / Wisconsin eat local resources:
From non-governmental orgs:
Odds and ends: