Skip to Main Content

|   Research Guides

Find Research Services About Accounts
MARQUETTE.EDU
close Menu

SEARCH RAYNOR

Find Archival Collections Collections Digitized Collections (e-Archives) Encyclopedias, Dictionaries Institutional Repository Location of Books/Periodicals Off Campus Access Research Databases A-Z
Research Citation Software Citation Style Guides Library Classes, Tours and Workshops Research Guides Research Consultations Subject Specialists/Liaisons
Services Borrow Chargers & Equipment Conference Center Digital Scholarship Funding Information Center Interlibrary Loan Laptop Checkout Poster Printing Printing Remote Computer Access Request Forms Software/Hardware List
About Hours Jobs (student & staff) Library Basics Library Policies Other Libraries Staff Directory Visitor Policy
Accounts Library Account (MARQCAT) Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD) Libby
Locations Brew @ the Bridge Center for Teaching and Learning Classroom Reservations Digital Media Editing Room Faculty Research Carrels Floor Plans Graduate Student Research Carrels Group Study Rooms Lemonis Center for Student Success Ott Writing Center TechSquad (ITS)

RAYNOR A TO Z

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
facebook instagram x twitter youtube
close submenu

In This Guide:

New!

graphic stating New - Totally Redesigned

The reliability you've come to expect in a virtual environment!

WAVEM

BONUS!! 
Exotic and New!

grapic stating The Wavem Rule

  • Wenige
  • Andere
  • Viele
  • Einige
  • Mehrere

These always* take STRONG endings!

* Only exception recently acquired by Amazon.com. Have credit card ready in order to purchase.

Notice

WARNING:

By using this program, you agree to learn the GENDER of all new nouns!

Failure to do so voids all warranties!

Copyright

Protected by COPYRIGHT in every corner of the universe, known, unknown, imaginary, alternate, or otherwise!

© 2011
by John Pustejovsky

German: Adjective Endings

Dr. Pusto presents ...

A Fool Proof Guide Adjective Endings

sketch of Herr Prof Doc Pusto

Getting STARTED

Determine the following about the noun which the adjectives will modify:

  • Gender
  • Number
  • Case

Need help? Use a dictionary!

Then go through the Table of Conditions below!

Table of Conditions

This is a FLOW-CHART, right?  So 'go with the FLOW'!

Table of conditions for adjective endings

Condition 1:

Is there a limiting word?
FREE Help! Limiting words: –  der, dieser, jeder, jener, mancher, solcher;
–  the 'ein' words (ein, kein; mein, dein, sein) EXCEPT ...
–  NOT the 'ein' word exceptions (see Condition 2 for details).
  Yes •  The limiting word has a STRONG ending
•  The other words have WEAK endings.
No Go to Condition 2.

Condition 2:

Is the limiting word one of the 'ein' word exceptions?
The 'ein' word exceptions:  don't forget them! Case Gender Number

'Ein' word exceptions precede nouns
in the these cases:

 Nominative Masculine Singular
Accusative Masculine
Neuter		 Singular
  Yes •  The 'ein' word has NO ending
•  All the others have STRONG endings.
No Go to Condition 3.

Condition 3:

Are there NO limiting words and NO 'ein' word exceptions?
  Then ALL adjectives have STRONG endings.

STRONG Endings

Strong adjective endings
  Singular  Plural 
Gender /
Case		 Masculine Feminine Neuter  
Nominative er e es e
Accusative en e es e
Dative em er em en, n
Genitive es er es er

'strong like a bull' image

WEAK Endings

Weak adjective endings
  Singular  Plural 
Gender /
Case		 Masculine Feminine Neuter  
Nominative e e e en
Accusative en e e en
Dative en en en en
Genitive en en en en

'weak like a chicken' - image