Mechanical Engineering: Article Search

Need Help?

Why Articles?

Articles appear in magazines, journals, periodicals, and newspapers. Use articles for:

most recent research on a topic
coverage of very narrow topics
coverage of current events
contemporary accounts of past events and research

Article Databases

Databases provide a systematic method of searching for articles, conference papers, technical reports and other documents on your topic. The top databases for Mechanical Engineering are:

Compendex (Engineering Index) from Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Indexes engineering articles, reports, and conference proceedings from all areas of engineering. 1970-Present. A back file covering 1884-1969 is also available.
Cutdata from TechSolve This link opens in a new window
Available on the Legacy Apps computer in Raynor Library. Ask at the Information Desk. Machining database with 100,000+ feed and speed recommendations. Based on the Machining Data Handbook.
Dissertations and Theses Global from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Extensive North American coverage, lesser European coverage. Full-text availability varies by author's permission.
National Technical Reports Library – NTIS from U.S. Dept of Commerce Technology Administration This link opens in a new window
Federally funded technology research reports freely available on the public access NTRL website. The NTRL is open to all users for search and discovery.
SAE MobilUS from Society of Automotive Engineers This link opens in a new window
Formerly called SAE Digital Library. Index of documents related to mobility engineering, including ground & aerospace vehicles, fuels, emissions and manufacturing.
Indexing covers early 1900’s to the present. Full text of SAE documents begins in 1998.
Web of Science from Clarivate Analytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches 12,000+ scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities. Cited Reference Search locates articles that have cited an older document. Limited full-text access.
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); the Science Citation Index and the Social Science Citation Index (1900-present for both); and the Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).

DieselNet
DieselNet includes technical papers, summaries of standards, and business information on diesel engines, emissions, fuel, and other technology. Includes the DieselNet Technology Guide, a reference source on diesel engines and emissions, and a business directory of suppliers and services related to engines and emissions.
More Engineering Databases
The full list on the Libraries' web site.

Evaluating Publications

Use critical thinking skills when deciding whether an article is appropriate to use. Consider:
Purpose: Is the intent to inform, entertain, persuade or educate?
Objectivity: Are various sides or points-of-view represented?
Author: Does the author have expertise on the topic?
Date: Is the information current or timely for your topic?
Bibliography: Are the authors sources of information cited completely.

Types of Periodicals
Periodicals, journals, magazines fall into 'categories' determined by their overall purpose:

Popular: Written for general public; authors and editors usually not experts in subject field; purpose is to provide current, societal/cultural news and discussion.
Trade: Written for individuals in a specific career/job or with a specific interest/hobby. Authors are generally persons working in the field/hobby or journalists with specialized knowledge. Articles discuss current issues, applications, & cases but are not reports of research.
Scholarly: Written for, and authored by, researchers, educators, students. Articles are reports of original research or other scholarly discussions.