Economics: Encyclopedias...

Need Help?

Why background?

Background sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) provide well established summary and factual information. Useful for:

Gale eBooks from Gale This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 400+ resources covering a broad selection of topics.
Covers arts, business, communication, drama, history, medicine, religion, social science and more.

The American Economy by Kim Masters Evans (Editor)
Call Number: Online only
Publication Date: 2013
Unlimited user license.
Handbook of United States economic and financial indicators by O'Hara, Frederick M.
Call Number: Raynor Ref HC 106.8 .O47 2000
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Call Number: Electronic Resource - 2008 edition
Although this encyclopedia covers a broad range of subjects, it does include articles relevant to economics. And it's online ...
Managerial Economics.
Volume 8 in Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management by Robert McAuliffe (ed.)
Call Number: Ref HD 30.15 .B455 2005 v.8
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics by Steven N. Durlauf, Lawrence E. Blume
Call Number: Raynor Reference HB 61 .N49
Check MARQCAT for print availability.

I wish we could afford to buy this one online ... Despite the word 'dictionary' in the title, this is more of an encyclopedia.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law by Peter Newman
Call Number: Raynor Reference K 487.E3 N49 1998
Again, despite the word 'dictionary' in the title, this is more of an encyclopedia.
Routledge encyclopedia of international political economy by R.J. Barry Jones (ed.)
Call Number: Raynor Reference HF 1359 .R68 2001
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
The Secrets of Economic Indicators by Bernard Baumohl
Publication Date: 2012
3rd edition via O'Reilly Learning. Click on "Institution not listed", then enter your MU email address.

A Dictionary of Economics by Nigar Hashimzade; Gareth Myles; John Black
Publication Date: 2017
5th edition; unlimited user license.
Earlier edition available in print; check here for availability and location.
A Dictionary of environmental economics, science and policy by R. Quentin Grafton, Linwood H. Pendleton, Harry W. Nelson
Call Number: Raynor Ref HC 79.E5 G685 2001
Dictionary of international economics terms by John O.E. Clark (ed.)
Call Number: Raynor Reference HF 1359 .D4956 2006
Check MARQCAT for print availability.