Chemistry: Article Search

Need Help?

Ask us!

Search Strategies

SciFinder Strategy
Unlike most literature databases, SciFinder does not allow Boolean searching (AND or OR). This database is designed for natural language searching. It separates concepts in the topic by PREPOSITIONS in the entered search string. Relationships between concepts are not 'understood' by the words used. It automatically searches related terms and truncates terms; this process can't be controlled by the user.
Please see the SciFinder Web tab for search guides and tutorials.

Typical Strategy
--- Write down research questions for your topic and underline key concepts and keywords. 

--- Think of broader or narrower terms depending on what search results you retrieve from those concepts and keywords.

--- Think of synonyms and alternative terms to search and refer to a Thesaurus for more ideas.

--- Most databases will have a list of suggested subject terms.  Use these to narrow your search

Article Databases

Databases provide a systematic method of searching for articles, and other documents, on your topic. Some databases include full text of the documents and some only provide a short overview (abstract) of the main parts of the paper. 

The top databases for chemistry are:

Evaluating Articles

Critical thinking skills should be used when deciding whether an article is appropriate to use. Consider:

♦ Type of Publication: Is it a popular magazine or newspaper, a trade journal, or a scholarly journal? (see below)
♦ Purpose: Is the intent to inform, entertain, persuade or educate?
♦ Objectivity: Are various sides or points-of-view represented?
♦ Author: Does the author have expertise on the topic?
♦ Date: Is the information current or timely for your topic?
♦ Bibliography: Are the authors sources of information cited completely.

Types of Periodicals

Periodicals, journals, magazines fall into 'categories' determined by their overall purpose.

Scholarly: Written for researchers, educators, students, authors are other professionals. Articles are reports of original research or other scholarly investigations/discussions.

Trade: Written for individuals in a specific career/job or with a specific interest/hobby. Authors are generally persons working in the field/hobby or journalists with specialized knowledge. Articles discuss current issues but are not reports of research; the focus is on application.

Popular: Written for general public; authors and editors usually journalists--not experts in the subject field; purpose is to provide current, societal/cultural news and discussion.