Incunabula specimens in the library catalog.

Advanced search results (many rare books) at the library catalog.

Advanced search results (many rare books) at the library catalog.

In order to better serve all researchers seeking assistance from Special Collections and University Archives, our hours for research are by appointment only.

Rare Books, Correspondence and Information, 1960-1965
Riedl, John O., Correspondence and Information, 1951-1977
Gift Record, 1928-1945, 1947-1964; 4 folders

Administrative History: Rev. Edward J. O’Donnell, S.J. established the University Committee on Art in 1955 and appointed John L. Pick, professor of English, as its chair. The committee was charged with presiding over the university’s fine art collection, negotiating with donors, and supervising details involved with storing, displaying, loaning, and protecting the collection.

In order to better serve all researchers seeking assistance from Special Collections and University Archives, our hours for research are by appointment only.

A historical collection of fan magazines (slang: fanzines) created by fans of English author J. R. R. Tolkien (1892-1973). These have been digitized from the extensive S. Gary Hunnewell Tolkien Fanzine Collection at Marquette's Department of Special Collections and University Archives. Complete collection description at--
https://www.marquette.edu/library/archives/Mss/JRRT/JRRT-hunnewell.php

From 1946-1956, the celebrated photographer Carl Van Vechten mailed thousands of portrait postcards to his friend, Karl Priebe, a Wisconsin artist whose personal papers reside in Marquette University's Department of Special Collections & Archives. Complete collection description at--
https://www.marquette.edu/library/archives/Mss/KJP/KJP-sc.php

Several hundred bookplates have already been discovered in Raynor Library’s collections, and they continue to be found. This digital collection features images of a growing portion of these little pieces of art and book history. Highlights include a bookplate belonging to famed actress Helen Hayes and an bookplate designed by celebrated illustrator Arthur Rackham.