Henry W. Maier was mayor of Milwaukee from 1960-1988, the longest term of any Milwaukee mayor. His term saw significant changes in the Menomonee Valley, including the proposed state prison that was to be built in the valley nearby to Milwaukee County Stadium. There are three folders labeled "Menomonee Valley" in his papers (Box 109, Folders 23 & 24 and Box 266, Folder 17), covering the years 1975-1988.
The Maier papers are held at the UWM Library Archives, 2311 E Hartford Ave, on the UW-Milwaukee campus. Contact the UWM archives at askarch@uwm.edu or 414-229-5402 to arrange for a viewing appointment.

Small collection of clippings, newsletters, and reports about the Menomonee Valley. The reports date between 1964 and 2000. This collection is kept at the Milwaukee County Historical Society (910 N MLK Jr. Dr.). Please note that the MCHS charges $6 for a student research visit and only permits visitors to take smartphone photos of documents for a 25 cents per photo fee. To arrange for a visit, fill out the form at https://milwaukeehistory.net/schedule-a-visit/.

MPL's clippings collection contains news articles that were physically cut from editions of the Milwaukee Journal and Sentinel between the 1920s and the 1980s, although the bulk of the collection dates back to the 1950s. Per the clipping index, there are files for the Menomonee River Valley and Menomonee River Parkway. The full index - accessible via the link above - contains thousands of subjects in total, some of which may also be relevant to your research.
The files are viewable at the Milwaukee Public Library's central branch (814 W. Wisconsin Ave) by appointment only. Information on making an appointment is found in the link above.

Images from Milwaukee Public Library's Milwaukee Waterways collection, featuring the Menomonee Valley and the Menomonee River. Click through on each image to see more information about the picture.

IPUMS USA collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.

A collection of reports commissioned on the Menomonee Valley, many dealing with either possible development or the environmental state of the area.

Keyword-searchable collection of various iterations of the Milwaukee Journal, Milwaukee Sentinel, and Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel. Coverage dates back to 1841 and up to the present year.

Collection of city-published maps.

MPL cardholders may access HeritageQuest remotely or Ancestry.com on MPL computers.

Interactive map of Milwaukee overlaid with 1894 and 1910 Sanborn Fire Insurance maps. Incredibly useful tool.

Published 2022. Approach to the history and recent revival of the Valley through the lens of ecology and social justice.

Encyclopedia of Milwaukee entry on Milwaukee's effigy mounds - ancient earthworks created by the area's indigenous peoples. Includes a map that highlights mounds in the modern-day Menomonee Valley.

Encyclopedia of Milwaukee entry for the Menomonee Valley.

Commissioned by the federal government in 1935 as part of a national series of local guide books, this essay discusses the past and present of the Menomonee Valley from a Depression-era point of view.

Includes a short history of the Valley and links to resources and articles.

Interactive map of the Menomonee River Valley with a selection of notable historic, recreational, and business sites.

Hour-long program produced by PBS Milwaukee featuring Corey Zetts, executive director of the Menomonee Valley Partners. Per the episode descriptions, Zetts "explains how the Menomonee River valley has been converted from an inaccessible, blighted, polluted area to a vibrant economic center with public spaces alongside the healthy river."

1971 / 327p / Thesis

2017 / 451p. / Milwaukee County Historical Society

2009 / 282p / Northern Illinois Press

2018 / 498p. / Milwaukee County Historical Society

1948 / 638p / Wisconsin Historical Society Press