Chemistry: Reference Materials

Need Help?

Why background?

Background sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) provide well established summary and factual information. Useful for:

Visual Elements Periodic Table
from the Royal Society of Chemistry. Sliding temperature scale feature in Kelvin or Celsius.
Periodic Table of the Elements
from Los Alamos National Laboratory
Periodic Table of Videos
Video on each element from the U. of Nottingham.

Fundamental Physical Constants from NIST
From the Fundamental Constants Data Center of the NIST Physics Laboratory
Online Conversion - Convert just about anything to anything else
Over 5,000 units and 50,000 conversions

A Dictionary of Chemistry by Jonathan Law, Richard Rennie (editors)
Publication Date: 2020
VPN required for off campus access. 8th edition. Unlimited user license.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary ONLINE by 16th ed., 2016
Covers nomenclature, processes, reactions, natural products, manufacturing processes, equipment and more. Provides identification of chemical substances by name, physical properties, chemical formula, potential hazards, derivations, synonyms, and applications.
IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology: The Gold Book ONLINE
A collection of nearly 7000 terms, with authoritative definitions, spanning the whole range of chemistry, the Compendium is popularly referred to as the "Gold Book", in recognition of the contribution of the late Victor Gold, who initiated work on the first edition.

Glossary of Archaic Chemical Terms
Part of the Classic Chemistry site complied by Carmen Giunta of Le Moyne College
Units of Measurement Definitions
From the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Science.gov
Includes over 1,700 web sites and 30 databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials. Provides a unified search of the government’s scientific and technical information. Science.gov mainly provides citations and in some cases abstracts.

List of Chemistry Topics in Wikipedia
There is a great deal of chemical information on Wikipedia; as usual try to confirm that the entry includes references from reliable sources and double check facts in another source. There is also a Chemistry Portal

Chemistry Portal - Wikipedia
Pulls pages relevant to Chemistry onto single page
World Wide Science - "The Global Science Gateway"
Searches over 60 databases and portals from more than 60 countries and returns results in relevance-ranked order. Much of the information is freely available.

Use the Advanced feature of Google to be more specific in your search
Type "intitle:" to search only page titles.. Try intitle:digital divide (no space!)
Type "inurl:" to search only the web address of a page. Try inurl:raynor
Type "related:" to find pages that Google thinks are related in content. Try related:www.marquette.edu/library
Type "search tips site:" to specify a site to search within. Try search tips site:www.usps.com international shipping
Access Google Directory at directory.google.com
Type "site:" to return results from a specific domain. Try site:.org library
Type "intext" in Google News to pull terms from the body of the story
Type "define:" to access the built-in dictionary
No Calculator handy? Type 12*78 and hitting search will give you the answer
The calculator also converts measurements and currency. Try 200 pounds in euros
Type weather and a location or zipcode to get a four day forecast.
Include a zipcode in your search for local results. Try subs 53233
Type time and a name of place to find the time anywhere in the world
Enter a statistics-based query like "population of Britain" and it will show you the answer on top of the results
You can search foreign sites by clicking "language tools" on the right of the search box which allows you to choose what countries sites to translate your query to.