E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

History 

Last update: Nov 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Books             Print Page
  
 

New Books at MU

Each month the Marquette Libraries compile lists of new acquisitions to the collection. The lists are created on the 15th of each month and replace the lists of the previous month. Thus the new books that arrived in April are up on May 15.

Europe

United States & Canada

Africa, Asia, Latin America, Middle East, Mediterranean

Need Help?

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian: 414.288.7556

Email a Librarian

Research Consultation

 
 

First Stop Gateways

MARQCAT
   MARQCAT is the catalog for both Raynor Memorial Libraries and the Law School.  Use it to access all of our holdings, not only books but also DVDs, videos, and CDs. 

WorldCat
   WorldCat is the largest library catalog in the world, including the holdings of an international range of institutions.  Items held by Marquette Libraries are prominently marked by a green bar.  Through a special function in WorldCat, you can order items that we do not own through Interlibrary Loan, without having to enter the information in the online ILL order form.  For more information contact John Jentz (8-5969) john.jentz@marquette.edu.

See Book Reviews, Citation Trackingand E-Books at MU below.

 

Book Reviews

Book Review Index
   Covers reviews in both academic and popular publications.

America: History and Life
     Go to the advanced screen and enter the title of the book in a search box; there is no need to select a field.  Drop A or The at the beginning of a title.  The Search Mode should be "Boolean Phrase," and the Document Type should be "Book Review."   

Historical Abstracts
   Go to the advanced screen and enter the title of the book in a search box; there is no need to select a field.  Drop A or The at the beginning of a title.  The Search Mode should be "Boolean Phrase," and the Document Type should be "Book Review."

JSTOR
   Go to the advanced screen, change the top search window to "article titlle" and enter the title of the book without A or The at the beginning.  Under Limit to click on "Review."

See also this special Research Guide to finding book reviews:  Book Reviews.

 

Citation Tracking

Historians have often found books and articles by looking for items cited in other relevant sources. This traditional research process has been automated in the several databses below.  Explore this function in each one.  Arts and Humanities Citation Index is the most comprehensive, but also the hardest to use.  Click on Cited Reference Search and use the Help menu.

America: History & Life
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Historical Abstracts
JSTOR
Google Scholar

 

E-Books at MU

All History E-Books
   Use the Modify Search button to sort this large set by entering additional search terms.

ACLS Humanities E-Books
   The individual titles in this collection are cataloged in MARQCAT and accessible through the bibliographic entry.

Medieval Sourceonline
   The individual titles in this collection are cataloged in MARQCAT and accessible through the bibliographic entry.

 
 

Order Books

Facullty should submit typical book orders to Joyce Hunkel in the History Office.  For unusual items--out-of-print, very expensive, rare, reference, and so on--contact John Jentz at 8-5969, john.jentz@marquette.edu.  Students should ask faculty members to order particular books.

 

Other Catalogs & Databases

Library of Congress

Center for Research Libraries

Google Books

Amazon

Other Catalogs

 

AHA Guide

The AHA Guide to Historical Literature will get you started on any time period anywhere in the world.  The link is to both online and print versions.

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait