Citation Styles -- APA, MLA, etc.: MLA

Sample citations, style guides & other writing resources

MLA: Citation Guides

MLA Handbook (9th edition) by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB 2369 .M52 2021
Publication Date: 2021
See MARQCAT record for availability and locations.
MLA Handbook includes: guidance on creating works-cited-list entries using the MLA template of core elements; explains what each core element is, where to find it in various sources, and how to style it; an explanation of in-text citations; an appendix with sample works-cited-list entries by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more.
MLA Handbook (8th edition)
Call Number: LB 2369 .G53 2016
Publication Date: 2016
See MARQCAT record for availability and locations.
Groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type and format of source. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.

Changes in the 9th edition

Statement about changes from the MLA
Works Cited: a Quick Guide (from the MLA)
Includes a description of the core elements, and interactive examples.

Core Elements and Containers

With the 8th edition, MLA introduced the concepts of 'core elements' and 'containers' for citations. Core elements and containers (the concepts) are still in the 9th edition. Therefore the brief video below about the 8th edition is still relevant and useful.

This video is also embedded in a tutorial that allows you to practice working with the new MLA style ...

MLA 8 Tutorial - Anatomy of citations
Practice:
1. Identifying information necessary for citations
2. Putting the information elements in the correct order for a citation
3. Identifying the type of source

MLA: Sample Citations Online

Below are links to examples of works cited from the Purdue OWL website.

Print Sources:

Online sources:

Electronic sources, including ebooks, articles, websites, images, and more
Other Common Sources: including interviews, speeches, and more
Also conference proceedings, music, films and tv.

Other sources for MLA citation examples:

Excelsior OWL - MLA
Excelsior OWL is a competitor to the Purdue OWL, and a good one! Open the + menus in the left margin to get to specific examples.

MLA: Basic Citation Tools

These basic tools can help begin the formatting process but often require additional input and editing by the user.

EasyBib
A free bibliography creator. Formats your sources quickly in MLA, APA and Chicago/Turabian.
NoodleTools Express
A free bibliography generator that formats citations in MLA, APA and Chicago.
Citation Machine
Choose style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.), choose document type (book, article, etc.), search for citation information or enter already known information.

MLA: Advanced Citation Managers

RefWorks
Free online resource (for Marquette users) for compiling bibliographies and citations. Requires a RefWorks account created on a campus computer. See our RefWorks Guide .
EndNote Web
Free online resource (for Marquette users) for compiling bibliographies and citations. Requires an Endnote Web account created on a campus computer. See our EndNote Guide
Zotero Firefox Extension
Free Firefox extension to help collect, manage, and cite your sources. Covers AMA, APA, APS, ASA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, NLM, and more. See our Zotero Guide