Supply Chain Management: Encyclopedias ...

Need Help?

Why background?

Background sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) provide well established summary and factual information. Useful for:

basic concepts and established viewpoints
historical context and relationships to other topics
specialized terms and definitions
data, facts, formulas

Online reference collections

I suggest you start with one of these larger reference collections databases ... But below there are lists of specific encyclopedias and dictionaries, some online, some in print.

Gale eBooks from Gale This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 400+ resources covering a broad selection of topics.
Covers arts, business, communication, drama, history, medicine, religion, social science and more.

Knovel - Project Management
Knovel - Six Sigma, Lean & Quality Management
Knovel - Supply Chain Management & Logistics
22 handbooks on many different aspects of the field.

Encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.

I really recommend the Knovel databases linked above. But here I've pulled out some individual titles from both the Knovel and Gale Virtual Reference databases. I've also included some hard-copy titles.

Benchmarking Book - A How-to-Guide to Best Practice for Managers and Practitioners by Tim Stapenhurst
Call Number: HD 62.15 .S7366 2009
Butterworth-Heinemann, 2009
Operations Management.
Volume 10 in Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management
Call Number: Raynor Ref HD 30.15 .B455 2005
Distribution Channels: understanding and managing channels to market by Julian Dent
Call Number: HF 5415.129 .D46 2008
ISBN: 9780749452568
Essentials of Inventory Management by Muller, Max
Call Number: TS 160 .M83 2003
Handbook of Supply Chain Management by James B. Ayers
Call Number: HD 39.5 .H36 2001
International Logistics by Donald F. Wood, et al.
Call Number: HF 5415.7 .I553 2002
MRO Inventory and Purchasing by Terry Wireman
Industrial Press, 2008.
Process Planning and Scheduling for Distributed Manufacturing by Lihui Wang; Weiming Shen
Springer, 2007.
Supply Chain Risk Management: vulnerability and resilience in logistics by Waters, C. D. J. (C. Donald J.)
Call Number: HD 38.5 .W3844 2007

Dictionaries

A Dictionary of Business & Management by Jonathan Law (ed.)
Call Number: HF 1001 .D53 2009
Check MARQCAT record for availability and location.
5th edition. 2009.
Understanding American business jargon: a dictionary by W. Davis Folsom
Call Number: Raynor Ref HF 1001 .F65 2005
The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management by George Kurian
Publication Date: 2013
Click on "Institution not listed" and enter your email address. (Ignore the drop-down menu.)