In This Guide:

French Language & Literature: Dictionaries ...

Oxford Hachette French-English Dictionary

Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French by Marie-Hélène Corréard, Valerie Grundy
Call Number: PC 2640 .D532 2009

Publication Date: 2009

Check MARQCAT record for locations -- there are many copies!

Other Bilingual Dictionaries

In addition to the books listed below, on each floor of both Raynor and Lemonis, you'll find dictionary stands with a French-English dictionary. Well, that's assuming it's not already in use, nor has gone 'walk-about'!

Grand dictionnaire français-anglais, anglais-français by Faye Carney, Claude Nimmo (eds.)
Call Number: Raynor Reference PC 2640 .G735 1993

Check MARQCAT for print availability.

A larger, two-volume dictionary from Larousse.
Harrap's new standard French and English dictionary by R. P. L. Ledésert and Margaret Ledésert (eds.)
Call Number: Ref PC 2640 .H317 1972

Check MARQCAT for print availability.

A three-volume set ...

French language dictionaries - in French

These are the equivalents of our Webster's or Random House dictionaries.

Dictionnaire de la langue française : contenant ... la nomenclature ... la grammaire ... la signification des mots ... la partie historique ... l'étymologie ... by Émile Littré
Call Number: PC 2625 .L6 1889

Check MARQCAT for print availability.

A classic historical dictionary ...
Dictionnaire Historique de la Langue Francaise by Robert (Editor)
Call Number: Raynor Reference PC 2580 .D53 1998

Publication Date: 2000

An historical dictionary ...
Le Grand Robert de la Langue Francaise by Paul Robert (Editor)
Call Number: Raynor Reference PC 2625 .R552 2001

Publication Date: 2001

Check MARQCAT for print availability.

This is the big dictionary for current French ...
Trésor de la langue française; dictionnaire de la langue du XIXe et du XXe siècle (1789-1960) by Paul Imbs
Call Number: Raynor Reference PC 2625 .I4

Check MARQCAT for print availability.

Also available online in ARTFL, though an earlier edition ...
Le Nouveau Petit Robert by Paul Robert
Call Number: Ref PC 2625 .R554 2002

Publication Date: 2002

Check MARQCAT for print availability.

The 'short' version of Le Grand Robert ...

Visual dictionaries

Visual dictionaries are sometimes incredibly useful ... e.g. when you're not quite sure what to call something even in your own native tongue!

Bilingual Visual Dictionary: French English
Call Number: PC 2640 .B55 2005
Location: Lemonis level 5

Online dictionary sites

bab.la
This dictionary site also has: games, quizzes, vocabulary lessons for specific situations (e.g. job interviews, traveling, etc.) It also has a forum where, if you register, you can ask questions.
A very useful feature: conjugation tables!!
French-English Dictionary (a UK site)
Also has glossaries for computing and business terms.
Linguee
Linguee is not a traditional dictionary site: instead, it provides the user with examples of the sought-for word in context, both in the original language, and a translation. It can be useful for seeing the different ways in which a word or phrase can be used. Be careful: the translations are user-provided, so sometimes they are of questionable quality.
WordReference.com

Language usage

When you need to know how the French would handle a tricky grammatical situation, try one of these.

Le Bon Usage: grammaire française by Maurice Grévisse and André Goosse
Call Number: Ref PC 2112 .G84 2008

14th edition of a classic. There's an older edition (12th) that you can check out ...
Nouveau dictionnaire des difficultés du français moderne by Joseph Hanse
Call Number: Ref PC 2630 .H33 1987

Verb conjugation

For those hard-to-conjugate verbs, here are several resources that should help ...

12,000 French Verbs: Bescherelle complete guide to conjugating
Call Number: PC 2272 .A17 1995

French school kids also use the Bescherelle guides ...
Check availability via the Marqcat record.
501 French Verbs fully conjugated in all the tenses in a new easy-to-learn format by Christopher Kendris
Call Number: PC 2271 .K378 1996

Check availability via the Marqcat record.
L'Art de Conjuguer : dictionnaire des huit mille verbes usuels by Bescherelle
Call Number: PC 2272 .B47 1959

Check MARQCAT for print availability.
An older edition of the Bescherelle, but still useful ...
French Verb Drills by R. de Roussy de Sales
Publication Date: 2004

This one is online! Third edition ...
French Grammar and Usage by Roger Hawkins; Richard Towell
Call Number: Online only

Publication Date: 2015

Single user license.
WordReference.com - Verb Conjugator
Actually, this is a commercial website, not a book! But this section is where it needs to be ...