In This Guide:

History: Europe

Find Articles

Historical Abstracts from EBSCO
Guest Access
The standard indexing service for academic historical writings on all areas of the world, except the United States and Canada. Covers items published from 1972 to present.
JSTOR from JSTOR
Guest Access
Broad collection of full-text scholarly journals (approximately 2700 titles). Discipline coverage uneven and usually does not include the most-recent three years.

Find Primary Sources

Gale Primary Sources from Gale
Searches several primary source databases simultaneously: allows full-text searching of scanned historical newspapers, books, maps, ephemera, and more. Comprised primarily of publications of the 'western' world. 1500-1926.

Searches: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection; Eighteenth Century Collections Online; Making of the Modern World; Nineteenth Century Collections Online; and Sabin Americana; Times Digital Archive, 1785-2009; and the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2010.
British Periodicals from ProQuest
Collections I and II: full-text primary source periodicals, 160+ journals from Early British Periodicals and 300+ journals from English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts. Fully searchable text. Topics covered: literature, arts, social sciences. 17th-19th centuries.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) from ProQuest
Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in English, 1473-1700.

The collection contains over 100,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). A wealth of subject areas includes English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. The Basic search mode allows searching using a combination of the following fields: keywords, author, title, subject, bibliographic number (from the short-title catalogues), or date. More about EEBO.
Empire Online from Adam Matthew
Full-text digital reproductions of primary documents relating to the British Empire. 1492-1969.

Documents are organized under five themes: Cultural Contacts, c. 1492-1969; Empire Writing & the Literature of Empire; the Visible Empire; Religion & Empire; and Race, Class & Colonialism, c. 1783-1969.

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers - 19th Century from ProQuest
Online full-text of all papers issued by the British House of Commons 1801-1900 and of the Parliamentary Debates (Hansard) 1800-2009. The document sets can be searched separately or together.
State Papers Online 1509-1714 from Gale
Online, full-text archive of British state papers. 1500-1700.

more... less...

Includes State Papers, Domestic, Foreign, Scotland, Ireland, and Registers of the Privy Council.

Times Digital Archive 1785-2014 from Gale
Complete digital edition of the Times of London excluding Sunday editions. 1785-2009.

Frequently Used Journals

For more journals in this field do the following search through our the Marqcat Advanced Search feature:

1. Change the first search window to Subject by clicking on the dropdown arrow to the left.

2. Enter the following: europe history periodicals. Or substitute the name of any country for europe.

3. Click on Submit.