Online Learning: Library Help for Students

A research guide to help faculty and students find, access, and navigate online materials available through the library

Need Help?

Chat with an AJCU librarian

Chat with backup staff

Need in-depth help? Schedule a one on one research consultation.

Help with your Research

Raynor Memorial Libraries wants to help you succeed. If you need help with a digital scholarship project or a traditional research project - ask us! From meeting online with a subject specialist librarian for research help to asking a question via Chat, we are here to assist you.

Ask a Librarian!

If you're having an issue finding or accessing online materials or need research support - ask us! Librarians from the information desk and the digital scholarship lab are working remotely to help you. 

At this time, we recommend that you use our 24/7 chat box (yes, it's really 24/7! you can find it on our homepage). Or you can schedule a remote research appointment with a research librarian or a digital scholarship librarian- see the links below. 

The "Ask a Librarian" link below directs you a page with a variety of ways to reach us. 

Getting the Articles

Here's a short video showing how Find it @ MU works. (About 4 minutes long.)

Two common ways to find out if the Libraries have access to the articles you need:

1) You are searching in an article database, but it doesn't have the full-text:  

Click on  Findit@MU button in the article citation. Another window / tab opens with two possible options:

  • Links indicating Find it @MU may have located one or more sources for full text of the article. Click on the links and follow the trail to the article. 
  • Links to search MARQCAT by the journal title or its ISSN number. The journal may be available in print or electronically through a source not searchable by Find it @MU.

2) You already have a specific citation and aren't currently searching in a database:

  • Search for the journal title in MARQCAT, the library catalog;
  • Do not search the title or author of the article, MARQCAT doesn't contain article level information.

The MARQCAT record will indicate what years we have in print and/or online, providing call number locations for the print and links to the e-journal.  Once at the e-journal, navigate to the volume, issue and page that you need.

Questions:

Didn't find the article/journal using Find it @MU or MARQCAT?  Request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) by clicking on the link at the bottom of the Find it @MU window or tab.  Learn more about ILL here.

Ever wonder why the full-text isn't there?  Watch this short video about the Business of Information.

Citation Resources

Issues Accessing Online Materials

Remember - to access materials while you are off-campus, you need to go through an authentication process. See below for more information on those two processes (Library Login will work for most library materials!). If you are still having issues - ask us! We're happy to help. Accessing materials off-campus is a common issue that we answer via chat. 

Library Login

You can access MOST library materials using Library Login without the VPN. Please try to access materials without using the VPN, as there are many people trying to use it at the moment. 

To access most articles, databases, ebooks, and streaming videos, you will need to "log in" to the library to verify your identity. 

If you select a database from the A-Z list or click on an item from the library catalog, you will be directed to this screen. Enter your Marqnet credentials (what you use for Checkmarq). After you input your credentials, you will be directed to the resource you wanted. 

Library login screenshot


If you want to use MarqCat+, you will see a screen like this. Click on the "Hello Guest. Login for Full Access"

This will take you to the library login authentication portal. Fill in your Marquette credentials. Click Submit. It will then direct you back to your original search results page from MarqCat+. 

VPN

GlobalProtect VPN login windowSome library resources cannot be accessed from off-campus via the Library Login method. A VPN connection is required for these.

Follow the instructions for downloading the VPN client on your mobile device and your computer. (Both are needed.)

  1. Connect to the GlobalProtect VPN using your MARQNET Username and password
  2. Acknowledge the message received on your mobile device (iPhone, Android, tablet, etc.). Once the message is acknowledged the VPN will connect to Marquette's network.
  3. Go to the Library website and start your research

Questions? Contact ITS Help Desk: (414) 288-7799 or helpdesk@marquette.edu .