Online Learning: Finding resources

A research guide to help faculty and students find, access, and navigate online materials available through the library

Need Help?

Chat with an AJCU librarian

Chat with backup staff

Need in-depth help? Schedule a one on one research consultation.

Accessing Library Resources

First, be sure that you can authenticate with either the Library Login or the VPN. 

Basic Search Tool - MARQCATplus

MARQCATplus works well when you're just starting out.  For more complex or sophisticated searching, please use individual databases in your subject area -- see the Advanced Search Tools section.

MARQCATplus Search



 

Advanced Search Tools - Databases by Subject

Databases by Subject:  These allow you to see what databases we offer in a single subject area.  Then you can choose a database to search in.  This is the most comprehensive listing of what we have:  there are about 400 individual databases!

Databases by Subject

 

Advanced Search Tool - Research Guides by Subject

Research Guides: If you want a little more context or explanation for how to search, or how to choose which database to search in, see these guides to the resources in specific areas.  The guides are written by Marquette librarians.

Research Guides


Browse all Research Guides
Course Guides
General Research Guide

Getting the Articles

Here's a short video showing how Find it @ MU works. (About 4 minutes long.)

Two common ways to find out if the Libraries have access to the articles you need:

1) You are searching in an article database, but it doesn't have the full-text:  

Click on  Findit@MU button in the article citation. Another window / tab opens with two possible options:

  • Links indicating Find it @MU may have located one or more sources for full text of the article. Click on the links and follow the trail to the article. 
  • Links to search MARQCAT by the journal title or its ISSN number. The journal may be available in print or electronically through a source not searchable by Find it @MU.

2) You already have a specific citation and aren't currently searching in a database:

  • Search for the journal title in MARQCAT, the library catalog;
  • Do not search the title or author of the article, MARQCAT doesn't contain article level information.

The MARQCAT record will indicate what years we have in print and/or online, providing call number locations for the print and links to the e-journal.  Once at the e-journal, navigate to the volume, issue and page that you need.

Questions:

Didn't find the article/journal using Find it @MU or MARQCAT?  Request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) by clicking on the link at the bottom of the Find it @MU window or tab.  Learn more about ILL here.

Ever wonder why the full-text isn't there?  Watch this short video about the Business of Information.

Ask a Librarian!

If you're having an issue finding or accessing online materials or need research support - ask us! Librarians from the information desk and the digital scholarship lab are working remotely to help you. 

At this time, we recommend that you use our 24/7 chat box (yes, it's really 24/7! you can find it on our homepage). Or you can schedule a remote research appointment with a research librarian or a digital scholarship librarian- see the links below. 

The "Ask a Librarian" link below directs you a page with a variety of ways to reach us.