Spanish Linguistics and Language: Article Search

Spanish language dictionaries grammar syntax semantics morphology
Need Help?
Ask Us!

Searching for Scholarly Journal Articles

The following article databases are the best sources to use for scholarly journal articles related to the Spanish language and linguistics as well as second language acquisition of Spanish.

Below are some automated sample searches that will take you into the Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Database.

Note:  the * serves as a wildcard which tells the system to find words that begin the same:  example "teach*" will find any articles containing the words:  teach, teaches, teacher, teachers and teaching.

Top Article Databases

Getting the Articles

Here's a short video showing how Find it @ MU works. (About 4 minutes long.)

Two common ways to find out if the Libraries have access to the articles you need:

1) You are searching in an article database, but it doesn't have the full-text:  

Click on  Findit@MU button in the article citation. Another window / tab opens with two possible options:

  • Links indicating Find it @MU may have located one or more sources for full text of the article. Click on the links and follow the trail to the article. 
  • Links to search MARQCAT by the journal title or its ISSN number. The journal may be available in print or electronically through a source not searchable by Find it @MU.

2) You already have a specific citation and aren't currently searching in a database:

  • Search for the journal title in MARQCAT, the library catalog;
  • Do not search the title or author of the article, MARQCAT doesn't contain article level information.

The MARQCAT record will indicate what years we have in print and/or online, providing call number locations for the print and links to the e-journal.  Once at the e-journal, navigate to the volume, issue and page that you need.

Questions:

Didn't find the article/journal using Find it @MU or MARQCAT?  Request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) by clicking on the link at the bottom of the Find it @MU window or tab.  Learn more about ILL here.

Ever wonder why the full-text isn't there?  Watch this short video about the Business of Information.